This or that

After seeing Glenneth and Tina weigh in on a This or That survey a while back, I thought it’d be fun to add my two cents, too. And now, I’m finally getting around to making that happen.

Without further ado, here are my choices:

Me, walking outside on a perfect Flagstaff spring day.

1. Run/workout in the heat and humidity or freezing temps and snow?

Seems that everyone’s been saying they’d rather work out in cold weather. I’m going to be the odd duck here, because I’d rather work out in heat. Maybe that’s because I live in Arizona now, and my recollection of humidity gets fuzzier every year. Of course, in an ideal world, I wouldn’t have to deal with either one … If only I could winter in Phoenix and spend summers here in Flagstaff!

2. Have washboard abs or flat abs?

Flat abs, definitely. While I want more muscle tone/definition than I currently have, I don’t like the overly muscular look.

3. Dr. Oz or The Doctors?

The Doctors. Dr. Travis is hot.

4. Cardio or strength?

I am more cardio queen. Working on getting into strength training, though, with help from Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp. (Yeah, that’s a picture of my wimpy 2-pound weights. I’ve graduated beyond those.)

5. Cravings: Protein or carbs?

I prefer protein, but don’t crave it because I eat it all the time.

6. Jillian Michaels or Bob Harper?

Um — can’t I have both? Bob definitely seems nicer, but Jillian’s tough love is likely just what I need to kick my butt into gear.

7. Frozen Yogurt or Ice Cream?

Ice cream. Preferably Ben & Jerry’s New York Super Fudge Chunk. (Oh … that’s a craving. Maybe I should change my answer above to “carbs.”)

8. To train: Upper body or Lower body?

I don’t train either of them often enough. I prefer upper body, which means I should probably focus more on lower.

9. Protein powder or food with protein?

Both. I’m intrigued by the GNC egg protein I’ve seen Tina mention on Carrots N Cake.

10. Lunges or squats?

Squats, I guess. I love fun moves like the Sumo Squat and Genie Squat.

11. Sweet or salty?

Sweet, definitely. I miss my Splenda now that I’m doing the Whole30.

12. Workout attire: cute or comfy?

Preferably both. But if I have to choose, comfort will win every time. (Same goes for shoes. I rarely wear heels because they’re uncomfortable. Plus, at 5’10”, I’m tall enough without extra lift.)

13. Body Pump or Heavy lifting?

Neither. I’ve never done Body Pump and I don’t heft more than 10 pounds.

14. Yoga or Pilates?

Definitely yoga. I need to get more yoga into my life.

My new Avia running shoes

15. Nike or Adidas?

I used to be a Reebok gal, but the Boyfriend is a Nike man. My two most recent athletic shoe purchases were a pair of Nikes for walking and Avia running shoes.

16. Running on the treadmill or outdoors?

I prefer walking outside and running on the treadmill. But to be fair, I haven’t attempted to run outside yet.

17. Whole Foods or Trader Joes?

Someday, I’ll try several of these dips. They’re low-carb.

Trader Joe’s. Thanks for reminding me I need to go back to the one in Prescott soon.

18. Summer or Winter Olympics?

Winter. I love the ice skating events.

19. Wine or beer?

I don’t drink much at all … but I prefer white wine over red and Corona over other beers. Better yet, give me a mixed drink like rum and Diet Coke (0 carbs), a fuzzy navel or amaretto sour. And who could forget the lovely pina colada? (Sorry — I couldn’t resist linking to The Pina Colada Song, “Escape” by Rupert Holmes. A piece of my childhood, revisited.)

20. Steamed or roasted veggies?

Roasted brussels sprouts are the bomb. Roasted asparagus isn’t so bad, either.

Leave a Reply

