Thursday threesomes

They say bad things come in threes — but so do good ones. My Thursday featured triads of each.

First the bad:

  1. It was pouring when I left for work, so I got soaked walking to the car. (Luckily, I dried out pretty quickly.)
  2. It was a long, stressful night at the office. (Nearly all of my banked time for the end of the week went bye-bye today, leaving me with a flat 8 hours for Friday, an even busier day.)
  3. The Boyfriend’s tennis lesson got rained out, so he was out $50. (So that means I’m out cash, too.)

The good?

  1. I lost another 2.6 pounds this week (for a total of 6 in two weeks). (Click here for an explanation of why I’m breaking the Whole30’s “no weighing” rule.)
  2. I got on the treadmill and walk/jogged for 20 minutes … even though I didn’t really want to. (A huge step forward for me.)
  3. I ate two delicious, Whole30-compliant meals: A turkey burger, served over sauteed onion and bell pepper slices with a side of sweet potato wedges; and, later, a salad (tomatoes, cucumber, spinach and arugula with homemade ranch) and a serving of chicken apple stir-fry that I pulled out of the freezer.

Seems to me like the good far outweighs the bad in my day. Seeing it laid out like that really puts things in perspective.

Reality check!

And now, the day in pictures. First up: my workout:

1.268 miles in 20 minutes. Not too shabby.

A healthy and delicious lunch:

turkey burger, onions, pepper strips and sweet potato wedges

My new favorite shirt:

Rocking the shirt that was way too tight a few short months ago.

Salad in a jar (courtesy of an idea I saw on Pinterest):

Putting Pinterest to good use with this salad in a jar.

Huh. You can see part of the paper’s Friday movie page in the background, along with some of my very messy handwriting (a list of the movies opening at our local theater this week). That’s what I spent the first hour-plus of my day doing … and work went on from there.

Anyway, today was either Day 14 of my Whole30 or Day 2, depending on whether I have to start from scratch thanks to Tuesday’s run-in with a slice of American. I’m not sure it’s getting any easier, but it’s not getting harder, either.

Dare I hope it’s just becoming a way of life? That’d be nice.

 

 

Leave a Reply

