Case of the grumpies

I think that health food store clerk’s prediction is coming true: Today’s my Day 11 of the Whole30 and I feel mean … feisty … and generally grumpy.

That surprises me somewhat. Since I’d already cut way back on carbs (and, am fact, am consuming MORE carbs now than I did on Atkins), I shouldn’t experience those dreaded “low-carb flu” symptoms. Exactly how many more carbs I’m eating I don’t know, because I haven’t been counting. I’m willing to guess it’s a considerable number, though, with onions, bell peppers, sweet potatoes and bananas back in my diet.

Maybe I was out of sorts Monday because, while I didn’t eat any foods not allowed on Whole 30, I also didn’t stick to the whole three meals/no snacks template.

I had a leftover pork chop and sauteed peppers, onions and zucchini for breakfast, with some almonds.

Then I met my writer friend at Starbucks, where I drank an iced green tea, unsweetened. I took advantage of my Treat Receipt to buy an iced coffee, black, which I took home and whirred in the blender with almond milk and half a frozen banana, because I was kind of craving a Frappuccino. (Don’t try that at home, folks. It wasn’t a great combo.)

Monday’s curry looked kinda like this one, minus the almonds and pineapple, plus a mound of spaghetti squash.

I took my doctored-up iced coffee to the office, where I downed it at about 3:30 p.m. while consuming a Larabar and 1/2 cup of fresh pineapple … That held off my hunger until about 6, when I ate leftover chicken curry over spaghetti squash and a handful of walnuts. When I got home at 10:30-ish, I whipped up a bowl of banana soft-serve and noshed on an extra spoonful of almond butter.

So overall, Monday’s veggie content was lacking. And I just noticed I ate more fruit than I probably should have. Another reason I was hungrier than I have been the past couple of days, I suppose.

It’s a learning process, right?

Today, I plan to stick much more closely to the Meal Map in “It Starts with Food” and see if my mood improves. I won’t be able to get by with a case of the grumpies later this week, when we’re short-handed at work.

Ahem. I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it, I suppose.

The weekend went pretty well, actually. I got in a good treadmill workout Saturday morning — again, the secret was to do it first thing, before I started doing anything else.

30 minutes, 1.8 miles.

 

Sweatier than all get-out, but pleased with my accomplishment.

That 30 minutes of treadmill time included 4 minutes of jogging. Not a lot, I know. I need to start building my endurance back up if I’m going to do the Ponderosa Hustle 5K next month.

Saturday’s Lunch, part 1

I also ate a delicious lunch Saturday: A pork chop (grilled on George), leftover roasted asparagus and freshly baked sweet potato wedges.

As usual, my meal timing was off. I put the pork chop on too soon, so it was ready about 10 minutes before the sweet potato wedges were due to be finished.

I ate it and the asparagus while the wedges finished cooking. About the time I finished meal 1.0, the sweet potato (meal 2.0) was ready to enjoy.

Anyone have any tips on how to make sure every component of a meal gets ready at the same time? Just don’t tell me to make a one-pot meal. I do that often enough — and really enjoy the concoctions, most of the time. But sometimes I’d rather eat food that doesn’t all run together!

Saturday’s Lunch, Part 2

Then again, maybe that’s just the grumpies rearing their ugly heads. 😉

After dinner Saturday (Italian sausage, peppers, onions and zucchini), I headed down to the Boyfriend’s. With my roommate gone, we ran back up to my place Sunday morning so I could feed the dogs, and I went with him to his tennis lesson Sunday afternoon.

I also had some time to catch up on some magazine reading. (The new issues of Weight Watchers Magazine and Fitness had just arrived in my mailbox.) Both of them picked up on the “can’t” vs. “don’t” study I mentioned.

Seeing it in print — again — just reinforced the importance of the results. It really does seem like an easy shift, but one that could be life-changing.

I’ll get right on that as soon as I get over my case of the grumpies, okay?

Leave a Reply

