Produce Pick: Honeydew Nectarine

When it comes to melons, I’m strictly a cantaloupe/watermelon gal. I leave chunks of honeydew behind when eating fruit salad … and I would never, ever buy a honeydew melon.

So I surprised myself by picking up a honeydew nectarine from Safeway’s produce department. The first thing that intrigued me was the beautiful color — perhaps a sign that I’m not as averse to green foods as I once was? I thought it might be a green plum until I read the name on its tag.

I’m not a fan of honeydew melon, but these babies are delicious!

I’m bummed that this photo makes it look more yellow. It was actually a pretty, pale green.

Inside, the honeydew nectarine is yellowish-green.

Inside, it looked like this:

Unlike David, who blogs about the unusual produce he picks up, researches and then tries the pick in a recipe, I ate first, researched much later.

I simply sliced the fruit, then topped it with a sprinkling of coconut and chopped pecans.

It was delicious — and didn’t taste a thing like honeydew … which I’d have known to expect had I looked up the nectarine online BEFORE I bit into it.

Apparently, it’s not related to the melon at all. Rather, it gets its name from the color of its skin. Makes sense, right?

According to the website specialtyproduce.com, Nectarines as a whole are native to China, but the honeydew nectarine was  developed in the late 20th century by fruit grower David Kamada of Ito Fruit Company in Reedley, Calif. It’s a hybrid between several white-fleshed nectarines and pale-skinned nectarine varieties.

How do you select a honeydew nectarine? Melissa’s Produce recommends: Choose slightly firm fruit with no extreme softening or bruises. Refrigerate for up to one week; ripens quickly at room temperature.

Better go put my last remaining honeydew nectarine in the fridge. I don’t want it to ripen too quickly!

I have to admit, I’m enjoying the chance to eat a little fruit from time to time now that I’m doing the Whole30. I just have to be careful not to overdo it. I want the bulk of my carbs to come from veggies (and lower-carb veggies, to boot!).

2 responses to “Produce Pick: Honeydew Nectarine

  1. I like trying new or unusual fruit. I have been going back for the Lemon Drop Mellon. It has a melony flavor and texture with a citric acid kick.

Leave a Reply

