Another day under my belt

So far, so good when it comes to the Whole30. I just finished Day 4 without eating anything I shouldn’t have — at least in terms of foods/drinks. My timing could use a little work, though.

Sweet Potato Hash with unsweetened Thai Iced Tea

I started off my day with a plate of Sweet Potato Hash and eggs (based on the recipe in “It Starts with Food”). I ended up splitting the recipe because the entire pan, which included a whole sweet potato, looked like too much food. But when I divided it in half, it didn’t look like very many veggies … so I piled it atop a bed of spinach.

It ended up being a very filling, delicious meal.

After that, I went back to the kitchen to whip up a pan of Chicken Apple Stir Fry, which I divided into several containers. I froze some and took the rest to work for dinner, with a big salad that I packed in a Mason jar, a la this pin from Pinterest. I also packed a handful of pecans.

Meal 2 ended up being a little scattered. I ate my salad and pecans at about 5, when I first got hungry … but I didn’t nuke the chicken and apples until about 7. Not quite kosher, I know.

When I got home from work (late, unfortunately), I threw together Meal 3: Leftover fish and tartar sauce with banana soft serve on the side. Also a little squiffy, I suppose — but I didn’t want to be eating a pile of veggies at midnight. At least I had protein first!

I’m having a little trouble with the whole “three meal” concept. I’ve been eating my first meal at around 11 a.m., which means second AND third meal are during my shift at work.

In the past, I’d have an afternoon snack at 4 or 5 and then eat between 7 and 8 (and again when I got home from work, anywhere from 10:30 to midnight). I kind of fell into that same pattern today.

But even at home this weekend, I only managed two regular meals. On Sunday, I ate at about 11 a.m. (soon after getting up/cooking something) and 4:30 p.m. … Then at around 10, I fixed a small bowl of veggies and sausage, with a side of frozen banana/coconut butter/almond butter, all blended together.

Any ideas on how I can change the way I think about meals without getting up earlier for a proper “breakfast”?

Leave a Reply

