Kitchen-palooza

The Boyfriend was off at a family reunion, so I was on my own all weekend. Wanna know what I did?

Spent time in the kitchen. Okay, I also ran errands on Saturday and met a friend for several hours of writing time at Starbucks Sunday afternoon … but the bulk of my Saturday was spent whipping up various things to make it easy for me to successfully do the Whole30.

Ground pork with zucchini, green beans, tomato and onions

Up first? Cooking a batch of ground pork that I can combine with veggies all week long. I used the master ground meat recipe from “It Starts with Food,” which was super-simple to follow. Its first test run came in Saturday’s first meal. Not sure whether to call it breakfast or lunch, since it was my first meal of the day. I ate at about 11 a.m., but it wasn’t traditional breakfast food. Maybe I’ll go with the Hartwigs and just call it Meal 1.

After eating, I hit the store circuit: Safeway, the health food store and Target. Along the way, I picked up stuff I needed for several recipes.

Included in the haul was some fancy-schmancy organic ground beef from New Frontiers. I couldn’t pass it up since it was on sale, and it’s exactly the kind of meat the book says I should be buying.

When I got home, I went straight to the kitchen.

First on my list: Homemade olive oil mayonnaise, from the recipe in “It Starts with Food.” I have to admit, I was skeptical an egg and a bunch of olive oil would turn into mayonnaise … but it did — and with very little effort. When I turned off the food processor, I had a bowl full of this:

It looks like mayo. Tastes like mayo, too. Amazing!

Cool, eh? Looks like my Cuisinart base could use a good cleaning, though.

Look at the stuff in the fridge itself, not the door. (I didn’t clear that.)

Kind of like the cleaning I gave my fridge, in between making mayo, homemade almond butter, ground beef and roasted brussels sprouts and asparagus. Butternut squash and spaghetti squash were also baked.

That’s right: I tossed all my open bags of cheese and froze the unopened ones in case I end up going back to Atkins when my Whole30 is over. Gone were all the sour cream, cream cheese and half-gone jars of pesto, Alfredo and other sauces.

Sadly, I also tossed some pepperoni, sausages and a few slices of bacon that didn’t meet Whole30 requirements.

In went water, a pitcher of iced tea, cans of LaCroix water (unsweetened, of course). Also in the fridge: Raw veggies, plus everything I cooked up. Veggies, meats, mayonnaise, almond butter.

The contents of my fridge are now Whole30-approved. Okay, the fridge is cool, but the door is not. I left stuff that I might need if I don’t stick with Whole30 beyond the 30 days. Right now, I’m planning to — but that might change. We’ll see how it goes.

Sunday morning, after hitting the treadmill, I threw together a brunch bowl of ground pork, half an apple and green beans, with a side of brussels sprouts. Then it was off to Starbucks for writing time. When I got back, I fixed an early dinner.

Steamed broccoli and cauliflower, butternut squash and cod breaded with coconut and ground almonds, topped with homemade tartar sauce

Fish? Um, yeah. I “breaded” a piece of cod with ground almonds and coconut. It turned out really well, especially topped with tartar sauce I whipped up using a base of homemade mayo.

Surprise! I didn’t know I could like fish that wasn’t breaded and deep fried.

Maybe over the course of the next 30 days, I’ll discover other foods I didn’t know I liked.

Leave a Reply

