Recipe: Chocolate-Cherry Smoothie

I’ve grown quite used to having a breakfast smoothie — and, in fact, I’ve been missing them something fierce now that I’m on vacation without my Ninja blender.

Usually, it’s the Birthday Cake Remix smoothie that I whip up. But before I left, I did a little creative thinking. Inspired by the Cherry Pie Smoothie Tina posted at Trading Up Downtown, I ditched the Greek yogurt, halved the amount of cherries, threw in half an avocado and a little cottage cheese and came up with this frosty, delicious Chocolate-Cherry Smoothie.

Avocado, cottage cheese, cherries, chocolate whey protein powder, almond milk and a splash of sugar-free chocolate syrup.

Cherries? Chocolate? What’s not to love?

Even better, this sucker was filling. It took me for-ever to finish it off.

In the mix (carb counts in parentheses):

  • Half an avocado, diced (2.1)
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese (2)
  • 1/4 cup frozen cherries (4.2)
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein powder (I used Jay Robb) (1)
  • 1 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk (1.3)
  • 11 ice cubes (0)

Blend together and enjoy.

Gulp. That came out a little higher in carbs than I expected, at 10.6. No wonder it was so darn filling. That’s half a day’s worth of carbs!

Wonder what would happen if I ditched the cottage cheese altogether? When I get back home to my blender, I’ll have to find out.

Leave a Reply

