Go, go, go

Since my two weeks off from work started on Saturday, I haven’t blogged once. Sorry about that.

Obviously, I decided my vacation meant a break from blogging, too. No more.

A quick update: So far, I’ve been having a grand old time on my time off.

Saturday flew by in such a blur that I can’t even remember what happened anymore. On Sunday, I got up early to go with the Boyfriend to his tennis lesson because we planned a hike afterward.

While he taught, I dutifully went to get enough cash to pay the Red Rock Pass fee so we could (legally) hike in Sedona. I also picked up this:

A straight-up iced latte made with heavy cream and sugar-free cinnamon dolce syrup. Usually, I’d order it blended, so it was like a Frappuccino … but I’d just read a few blog posts starring iced coffee (bet you can’t guess who wrote those!), and it looked so good I decided to switch up my order.

I soon remembered why I don’t order iced coffee.

Iced coffee — all gone.

It didn’t last nearly long enough. I had that sucker inhaled before I made it back across town to the tennis courts — and it’s only a five-minute drive. (Maybe 10, if there’s a lot of tourist traffic) 😛

Even more unfortunate was that our hiking plans evaporated when the thunderstorm rolled in. Not that I’m complaining about the rain — we definitely needed it (and more). However, I don’t see why it couldn’t have held off a few more hours to give the Boyfriend and I a chance to hike around Bell Rock.

We ended up at the movie theater instead, where we watched an odd but excellent little movie called “Moonrise Kingdom.”

It was one of those kind of arty movies I’d never heard of, but it was starting at just the right time — and it starred big names like Edward Norton, Francis McDormand, Bill Murray and Bruce Willis. The story, set in the 60s, centers on two crazy 12-year-olds who, having fallen in love, run away from their scout camp (him) and home (her).

Definitely worth watching if you get a chance. I think it’s one of those things out in limited release.

After the movie, we hung out until the Boyfriend dragged me out of the house for a walk through his neighborhood. By then, after eating too much of his damn movie popcorn, all I wanted was a carb-induced nap … but he insisted I’d feel better after a walk.

Dadburn it, he was right. (Just don’t tell him I said so, OK?)

Monday, I had an opportunity to meet one of my favorite romantic comedy authors, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, in Phoenix. If you’re interested, you can read more about that experience on my writing blog.

The Boyfriend and I drove down early, so we ended up at another movie theater, killing time. The theater was an older one with cool stuff in the lobby, like costumes from Darth Vader and a Storm Trooper and a statue of Mr. Spock. I was in geek heaven.

Even better, it was a theater showing older releases, and admission was only $3/person. Win!

We ended up seeing “Mirror, Mirror,” the Snow White movie starring Julia Roberts. It got a bad rap from reviewers, but I loved it. It was bright, kitschy and very funny. (Did you know the seven dwarves were actually robbers?)

I’m sure it’s much better than the other one, with Kristen Stewart in it. That chick can’t act her way out of a paper bag.

Today (Tuesday), I’m catching up on some much-needed writing/blogging work. After a few days off, I have a ton to do. And the Boyfriend wants me to do a C25K run. It’s time, but I’m not sure I can bring myself to do it on the tiny treadmill. Maybe I’ll have to take it outside.

Best get back to my write/blog/tweet fest. I have a lot to catch up on.

 

Leave a Reply

