Reading, ‘riting and (no) ‘rithmetic

Tuesday was a routine day in the life … After an extra day off to make up for having to work this coming Saturday, I headed back to the day job.

That meant leftover Crock Pot Green Chile Pork topped with avocado and cheddar for dinner. Breakfast was a serving of wasabi-soy sauce almonds and an Atkins Cinnamon Bun bar at the Boyfriend’s. When I got back home from the Boyfriend’s (after he “helped” me clean out my car), I whipped up a Birthday Cake Remix Smoothie for lunch. That is quickly becoming a favorite of mine.

Snacks included 28 more almonds plus the rest of that delicious cauliflower cheesy “bread” that I plan to blog about soon, key lime-coconut mousse, another Atkins bar (chocolate hazelnut) and one small peanut butter cookie.

It feels like I snacked a lot — probably because I did. Today I’m going to track religiously and drink a ton of water.

It’s also C25K day. Up this time: W6D1. That’s 5, 8 and 5 minutes of running separated by 3-minute walk breaks. Now that I can run 20 minutes without stopping, that ought to be a piece of cake.

My Tuesday also included some time writing at Starbucks before work, and some time reading the PB Fingers book club selection for June, “Drop Dead Healthy.” I’m about halfway through, and am loving it. The author’s conversational, funny tone is right up my alley. (More on that later, once I’ve finished the book.)

I did a little reading and a little writing, two of the “three R’s” in the old saying. No ‘rithmetic for me, though … unless you count using a calculator to subtract three receipts from my checkbook. (I don’t.)

The whole car-cleaning episode was a little annoying.

“Let’s go to the recycling bins by the post office to clean out your car,” he said.

I whined a little, but finally committed. Then, once we got there, he didn’t want to finish. When the recyclable plastic cups and bottles were off the floor of the front seat, he was ready to leave.

Me, I was still trying to sort through the piles of stuff accumulated in the back seat. When I settle in to clean my car, I want to finish the job — and it is a chore. I tend to throw stuff in the back seat and forget about it.

I admit it: I’m a slob. My car is as cluttered as a subway car during rush hour. There are about 10,000 other things I’d rather be doing than cleaning — among them writing, reading, cooking, playing online, working out and petting my cats. Housework/car cleanup is last on my to-do list, if it makes the list at all … and it usually doesn’t.

Consequently, I had a lot to clean out and didn’t get to finish the job. Didn’t even come close, actually. Guess I’ll be putting car cleanup back on the to-do list. Bleah.

Well, it’s still better than ‘rithmetic, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

