Recipe: Birthday Cake Remix Smoothie

I’m still not sure why I didn’t love the Cake Batter Protein Shake I tried the other day. (It could be something as simple as my version not being as pretty as the one I pinned.)

Still, I wasn’t ready to give up on the idea. I want to like a filling meal in a cup.

So when I finally woke up Friday morning, I pulled ingredients out of my fridge and pantry and tried again.

Since I thought it might be the protein powder I was using, I humored myself by opening a new canister. I’m not sure it made a difference, and am seriously considering ordering some of this low-carb protein powder Heather talked up on Then Heather Said the other day.

I have no idea if it was the new protein powder or the almond milk (used in place of H2O), but something made my Birthday Cake Remix Smoothie delicious.

In the mix:

  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp butter extract
  • 2 – 3 packets Splenda (use sweetener of your choice)
  • 10 ice cubes

Throw everything in a blender and mix well.

Enjoy!

5 responses to “Recipe: Birthday Cake Remix Smoothie

  1. This looks mighty tasty!! That low carb dutch chocolate is AMAZING. I’m so happy I found a chocolate one that doesn’t taste chalk [that was my major problem before!]

    • Chalk? What a good description. I couldn’t put my finger on it, but that might be my problem with the taste of protein powder, too.

  2. Pingback: It IS getting easier « Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life·

  3. Pingback: Shopping is fun again « Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life·

  4. Pingback: Recipe: Chocolate-Cherry Smoothie « Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life·

Leave a Reply

