It wasn’t easy

… Then again, I guess things worth having seldom are easy. That’s a fact of life. You have to work for what you want so you appreciate it more when you get it.

The good news? I got it done anyway. That’s right. Even though it wasn’t easy, I made it through W5D1 of C25K this morning.

You already know I struggled with the 5-minute runs in Week 4 — so much that I seriously considered repeating the week in hopes it’d get easier. The advice I got from you all via Twitter, Facebook and the blog was pretty evenly split between “Push onward. You might surprise yourself.” and “There’s no shame in repeating the week.”

On Sunday morning, I was still waffling. I didn’t want to work out at all, but the Boyfriend pushed me to hit the treadmill despite my desire to veg out.

I decided to go ahead with Week 5, telling myself if I couldn’t get through W5D1, I’d go back and repeat Week 4.

I set my iPhone to Pandora’s ’80s cardio station. I started walking, then running, at the prescribed times. I huffed and I puffed. I thought I might blow the house down (OK, not really).

At the end of 31 minutes, I’d covered a little more than 2 miles.

Done at speeds of 3.5 to 4.2. 307 calories burned and 2.02 miles covered.

The secret to my success? I firmly believe it was how I tricked myself. I’m not ashamed to admit flipping the phone around so I couldn’t see the timer counting down the seconds. That seemed to make the longer stretch at least a little more bearable.

I got through it!

When it was over, I was hot, sweaty, exhausted and elated. I guess I did surprise myself — at least a little.

I couldn’t help noticing W5D2 includes 8-minute stretches of running. If I flip the phone around, I just might be able to do it.

And if not, I can still go back and repeat Week 4, right?

Leave a Reply

