Recipe: Crock Pot Green Chili Pork

I’m taking a page from David‘s book with a game of What’s in the Crock Pot.

Not very appetizing, but delicious. Hmm. That seems to be a theme with my meals, doesn’t it?

Actually, I feel guilty calling this a “recipe.” It’s so simple that everyone has probably already thought of it. But it is the meal that was waiting for me when I got home from seeing “Dark Shadows” on Sunday afternoon, and I enjoyed it so much that I just had to share.

It’s super-simple, with only three ingredients:

2 pounds boneless pork chops

1 14-ounce can green enchilada sauce (I used Las Palmas Green Enchilada Sauce with 3 Net Carbs per serving)

1 spoonful jarred roasted garlic

Line slow cooker with plastic liner for easy cleanup. Layer in pork chops, sauce and garlic. Cover and cook all day, until pork is fall-apart tender. Shred with two forks and serve.

Serving options are practically endless. I wanted to have mine stuffed into tacos, but I was out of low-carb tortillas. Instead, I put it in a bowl and topped it with 1/4 cup sharp cheddar cheese and half an avocado.

Other toppings could include sour cream, chopped tomatoes, sliced black olives … even corn for carb-eaters. Those who eat bread could put the meat on a Sandwich Thin or other bun and eat it like a pulled pork sandwich with Mexican flair.

Put this mix in your slow cooker and I guarantee the only disappointment will be when it’s gone.

4 responses to “Recipe: Crock Pot Green Chili Pork

  1. I’m totally gonna try this – sounds GREAT! Take a page from my book any time you want! 🙂
    What did you think of Dark Shadows? I’m a Tim Burton nut but I didn’t like it as much as I wanted to. Always appreciate the design and visual style of his films, though.

    • Dark Shadows kept me thoroughly entertained for the duration. Of course, I don’t know how it stacks up to the show, having not really watched it.

      Watching the previews, I think I’ll skip “Frankenweenie.” It seems like one of those movies that’ll just make me bawl … poor kid tries to resurrect his dog.

      • I can’t wait for Frankenweenie! He made a 20-min live-action version of it in the ’80s, it launched his career because Pee-Wee Herman saw it and hired him to direct “PeeWee’s Big Adventure.” Dark Shadows the show is before my time. I liked the first and last 30 min of the movie, but thought it slogged in the middle.

  2. Pingback: Summer bummers « Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life·

Leave a Reply

