There’s always a first time

The challenge? Thirty health-related posts in 30 days, using prompts prepared by the folks at WEGO Health.

Day 28: The first time I … Write a post about the first time you did something. What is it? What was it like? What did you learn from it?

The first time I read “Atkins’ New Diet Revolution,” I thought the good doctor was nuts.

“Give up pasta, bread and potatoes?” I scoffed. “Yeah. Like that’s ever gonna happen.”

A few months later, my brother and his wife started Atkins. Dan assured me that giving up all those foods I thought I loved really wasn’t so bad. And at the time, right after both my parents and my grandma died, I was ready to listen.

My roommate and I read the book again and decided to give it a go.

“The worst that can happen is we’ll try it for six weeks, lose nothing and go back to eating what we’ve always known,” we told each other more than once.

Well, the six weeks came and went and the weight kept falling off. Atkins is the only diet I’ve ever been able to stick with long-term — and the only one I’ve seen results with.

I find myself wondering more and more often whether I should go back to the plan as outlined in “New Diet Revolution.” I like “New Atkins for a New You” and its emphasis on getting more carbs from veggies … but it doesn’t seem to be working for me — at least not like the original plan did.

Yes, I’m several years older. The first time I started Atkins, I was just days past my 32nd birthday. My roommate and I did our traditional birthday dinner at the Outback, came home and ate cake and then spent a day getting ready to go low-carb. We set to cleaning out the pantry, boiling eggs to make deviled eggs and making roll ups with deli meat and cream cheese.

Now I’m 40 1/2. That’s bound to have some effect on my weight-loss speed. But I can’t help but wonder if I’d be losing more, faster on the old plan.

Either way, Atkins is still the only diet I can do without feeling deprived.

Leave a Reply

