My theme song

The challenge? Thirty health-related posts in 30 days, using prompts prepared by the folks at WEGO Health.

Day 11: Theme song. Imagine your health focus or blog is getting its own theme song. What would the lyrics be? What type of music would it be played to?

This prompt sounded like fun … but that was before I discovered just how hard it was going to be for me to pick a theme song.

I thought about Chumbawamb’s “Tubthumping,”  mainly because of its chorus:

  • I get knocked down
  • But I get up again
  • You’re never going to keep me down
  • I get knocked down
  • But I get up again
  • You’re never going to keep me down

Source: http://www.elyrics.net/read/c/chumbawamba-lyrics/tubthumping-lyrics.html

Getting knocked down but getting back up again could easily define my journey. I’ve done almost every diet under the sun, from Nutrisystem (back when they still had weigh-in centers) and Weight Watchers. I’ve tried counting Points, calories and carbs. Heck, I even tried the Cabbage Soup Diet for a day (maybe two). I’ve been knocked out of my weight-loss routine more times than I can count … but I keep picking myself up and trying again.

Success comes through persistence. Like the Japanese proverb says, if you fall down seven times, get up eight.

But that’s a totally unoriginal theme song. It could apply to anyone with tenacity and drive.

So the hunt was back on.

I’m a fan of Sir Mix-A-Lot’s “Baby Got Back” — and I definitely have butt to spare. But that doesn’t seem quite right, either, since my hind end is a lot lumpier than the ones Sir Mix-A-Lot had in mind.

In a similar vein, although I’d like to say I consider myself “Fergalicious,” I don’t — yet, anyway. I’m trying.

Getting desperate now, because it was late and I needed to wrap up my post and get to sleep, I started perusing my iPod playlist. Surely SOMETHING would leap out at me as my theme song.

Unfortunately, nothing did.

The closest I managed to come? “Break My Stride” by Matthew Wilder. It could apply to my weight-loss journey. After all, the chorus is:

Ain’t nothin’ gonna to break my stride
Nobody’s gonna slow me down, oh-no
I got to keep on movin’
Ain’t nothin’ gonna break my stride
I’m running and I won’t touch ground
Oh-no, I got to keep on movin’

source: http://www.lyricsondemand.com/m/matthewwilderlyrics/breakmystridelyrics.html

Right now, that’s how I feel about my progress. I’m on a roll and nothing can stop me from getting to goal.

P.S. This post ended up being fun after all … I got to take a jaunt down memory lane while I looked for the video links. Who doesn’t love “Baby Got Back”?

Leave a Reply

