Change is good

At least I consider this change good, because it’s a marked shift in my attitude.

First, time for full disclosure: My Best Body Bootcamp workout (Workout B) didn’t happen as scheduled Tuesday morning. First, I hit the snooze alarm about ten times, completely unwilling to haul my butt out of bed at 8:30 a.m.

When I finally did wake up, almost an hour later, I threw on my exercise clothes and grabbed my iPhone. Still, I had trouble getting moving. I simply couldn’t bring myself to kick my own butt.

But — here’s where that attitude shift comes in — instead of scrapping activity altogether, I embarked on a longer walk around the neighborhood. Even though I couldn’t face both cardio and the strength training, I still did the cardio. I even walked faster and longer than I would have had I planned to do Workout B, too.

Not too long ago, I’d have gotten in no activity at all. Instead, I ended up with 10,000+ steps on the pedometer for the day.

The best part? Bootcamp’s flexibility means I’m still totally on track. I’ll just count today’s workout as optional cardio and complete Workout B this morning. But I’m setting the alarm for 9, not 8:30. For some reason, it seems like that half hour will make all the difference.

Two-egg omelet with 1/2 cup zucchini and 1/4 cup sharp cheddar.

When I got back from my walk, I whipped up an omelet with zucchini and sharp cheddar cheese. My breakfast inspiration came from Dena over at 40 Fit in the Mitt, who blogged about the Asparagus Pop-Ups she made over the weekend. They look great, and the discussion in the comments centered on everyone’s favorite egg mix-ins.

Mine, obviously, is zucchini. Well, that’s one of them, anyway. I also like green onions and mushrooms, neither of which I had.

And cheese, of course. Yum!

On a related note, I’m beginning to wonder if I’m lactose intolerant. I definitely experience some of the symptoms … namely numbers two and three on the list. Then again, the article says only 20 percent of Caucasians are affected.

Sounds like the odds are in my favor for once. I sure hope that’s true. I’d hate to have to give up dairy products.

I also did a load of laundry before work, then snuck in a couple hours of writing time at Starbucks.

Such an exciting life I lead, right? I know.

Up today, after my workout: gathering stuff to do my taxes. Don’t ask why I’ve put it off to the last minute when I know I’ll get a refund.

One response to “Change is good

Leave a Reply

