Best conversation I’ve had all week

The challenge? Thirty health-related posts in 30 days, using prompts prepared by the folks at WEGO Health.

Day Eight: Best conversation I had this week. Try writing script-style (or with dialogue) today to recap an awesome conversation you had this week.

Does a Twitter exchange count? I hope so, because that’s what I’m about to recount for you today. It’s not that I don’t have actual conversations — though sometimes I wonder if I spend more time online than off. It’s just that this exchange was so much fun I have to share.

On Thursday, my blog friend David, who brings a unique blend of humor and inspiration to his blog (“Keep It Up David”, where he recounts the changes he’s made to help him lose 168 pounds), shared a photo of his meal — a salad that looked delicious.

I told him so, adding, “And now I’m craving salad. Not a bad thing, right?”

His response? “Never a bad thing. #makeithappen”

Well, I was already on my way to the office with no salad in my dinner plan. (I had leftover steak and mashed cauliflower in my cooler bag.) But I didn’t stop thinking about that yummy-looking salad … or David’s suggestion to “make it happen.”

Friday morning, I woke up still wanting a big salad. Specifically, a Mexican-inspired salad, like David’s.

So when it came time to prep dinner, I seasoned a chicken breast with onion, garlic and chili powers and a little cumin, then threw it on my George Foreman grill. Also in the mix: 3 cups of mixed greens, 1/2 cup grape tomates, 1/2 cup cubed jicama, half an avocado and 1/4 cup cheddar cheese. For the dressing, I mixed together 1 tablespoon of salsa and 1 tablespoon of sour cream.

I took a picture and replied to David’s tweet from the night before.

In the mix: greens, jicama, grape tomatoes, cheese, avocado and grilled chicken seasoned with garlic, onion powder, chili powder and cumin. The dressing was a mix of salsa & sour cream (1 T each).

“Making that salad happen for dinner tonight. Yum! Can’t wait.”

“Looks delicious. #bon appetit,” he replied.

That salad was one of the best salads I’ve tasted in months. It made me want to eat salad more often — and that, of course, would help me lose weight faster.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I don’t commonly get a hankering for salad (although with Atkins, my salads can be a lot tastier because I’m not afraid of cheese, avocado and other fatty toppings.) So when I do, I try to take full advantage of the craving.

And I owe it all to a simple conversation on Twitter. Just goes to show you the power of the tweet, eh?

Thanks, David, for inspiring me to break out of my food rut.

One response to “Best conversation I’ve had all week

  1. Pingback: Best conversation I've had all week « Adventures in weight loss … | George Foreman Grill·

Leave a Reply

