Low-carb Recipe: Strawberry-Cottage Cheese Dip

This dip has just two simple ingredients, plus a little Splenda for sweetness.

Problem: How to use the pound of strawberries I picked up at the grocery store this week. They were starting to look a little worse for the wear, and I still hadn’t cracked open the package.

Solution: Strawberry-Cottage Cheese Dip

It’s super-simple to make, with just three ingredients: fresh strawberries, cottage cheese and a touch of Splenda for added sweetness.

The combination isn’t that unusual. I’ve snacked on cottage cheese with sliced berries many times. But on Friday, it hit me: Why not mix them together to get a creamy spread?

It’s not the first time I’ve put cottage cheese in the blender. At Christmastime, I made a dip with avocado and cottage cheese. At different times, I’ve also whirred cottage cheese with ranch dressing mix and cottage cheese with Splenda and cinnamon.

The recipe (such as it is):

  • 1/2 cup strawberries, quartered
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon Splenda

Blend together until smooth. (I used my Ninja.)

It turned out a little runny … and probably could have benefited from another 1/2 teaspoon of sweetener. But it still tasted pretty good straight out of the bowl.

Celery filled with Strawberry-Cottage Cheese Dip.

Seems like it’s pretty versatile. I used part of the batch to fill a couple of celery stalks to make my afternoon snack. The rest of it, I spread on a slice of low-carb bread.

Oooh … I bet it’d be excellent as a topping for French toast. I’ll have to try that next time.

I might play with the proportions, too. Maybe going lighter on the strawberries will make it more spread-like.

Leave a Reply

