Health Activist’s choice: How do you deal with unsupportive people?

The challenge? Thirty health-related posts in 30 days, using prompts prepared by the folks at WEGO Health.

Day Seven: Health Activist’s choice. Write about what you want today. Maybe try a bonus prompt.

It can’t just be my  friends and family that are sometimes maddening, right? Surely others bump up against folks who refuse to understand.

What I want to know is how to handle them.

What do you do when someone pushes food they know you won’t eat? What do you do when your lifestyle is attacked? How do you get them to understand that you can’t eat even one bite? That, yes, that one bite leads to another … and before you know it, you’ve devoured a half-dozen chocolate-covered donuts and an entire sleeve of Thin Mints?

It’s tough for me to handle the comments. Usually I laugh them off … or think of the appropriate response hours too late. (Why is it that the best retorts always come to you long after you need them?)

The next time someone tells me I really should be eating carbs, I know what to say:

I do eat carbs. Veggies have carbs. So do nuts and dairy. I eat plenty of carbs. What I don’t eat is crap carbs. The junk carbs in sugar, white flour, white potatoes do nothing for me — except make me want to eat more of that kind of thing. And eating that crap is how I regained most of the weight I lost the first time I did Atkins.

So no thank you. I’d rather stick to my low-carb diet and continue making progress toward my goal weight.

I was down another 0.8 pound when I got on the scale Friday morning. Not much, but I’ll take it. Any loss is better than no loss.

Leave a Reply

