A girl’s gotta do …

After seeing them on so many of my favorite blogs in the last couple of days, pancakes were on my mind — and not just any pancakes, but pumpkin pancakes like the ones Tina raved about the other day.

Since her recipe included high-carb bananas, that one was out. But the trusty Atkins website had a yummy-looking recipe for Almond-Pumpkin Pancakes. Sure, it’s technically a Premaintenance (Level 3) recipe and I’m still doing Ongoing Weight Loss (Level 2).

But sometimes a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do, right?

I knew whipping up a batch would take my mind off pancakes. Better yet, having a sweet breakfast Wednesday would allow me to avoid cinnamon roll temptation the next morning. (The Boyfriend and I planned to go to breakfast with his mother for her birthday Thursday at a place that has the best homemade cinnamon rolls on the planet.)

They were super-easy to make. I just mixed the dry ingredients (protein powder, almond meal, soy flour, baking powder and pumpkin pie spice) and added the wet ones (egg, pumpkin and cottage cheese).

Breakfast is served!

They turned out beautifully, even if this photo is a little blurry. Check out the pretty pumpkin color.

Light and fluffy, just like its high-carb counterpart.

And the taste was out of this world. Look how light and fluffy that baby is — just like a carb-filled pancake, only better, because this one has less than 5 Net Carbs per serving.

I’ll definitely be making them again, just not right away. The scale showed no progress this week. In fact, I’m up about a pound.

I’m tempted to use the ol’ “I think I’m retaining water” excuse. (It should be about that TOM.)

But I won’t. After all, I’ve been working out more. Maybe it’s muscle.

Or maybe my eating has been a tad too lax this past week. I haven’t been gobbling carbs, but I’m also snacking on a lot of cheese and (too many?) nuts.

Time to start sneaking in more veggies and fewer nuts.

Here’s the pancake recipe:

  • 4 ounces low-carb vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4 cup almond meal/flour
  • 4 Tablespoons soy flour
  • 1 Teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon pumpkin pie spice blend
  • 4 large eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 Cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 Cup canned pumpkin purée
  1. Mix the protein powder, almond meal, soy flour, baking powder and pumpkin pie spice mix in a medium mixing bowl. Stir in the beaten eggs, cottage cheese and pumpkin purée until blended.
  2. Heat a large nonstick skillet or griddle over medium heat. Lightly grease skillet with butter or canola oil.
  3. Using about 1/4 cup per pancake, drop batter onto the skillet. When bubbles begin to form in the middle of the pancakes, turn and cook another 2 minutes or until firm.
  4. Repeat, keeping pancakes warm in the oven before serving.

My Best Body Bootcamp workout didn’t happen today … but I have a good reason (the aforementioned birthday breakfast with the Boyfriend’s mom).

I made Thursday a rest day and will conquer Workout C on Friday and D on Saturday. I just checked the links to the exercises I didn’t recognize, and I have a feeling I’m going to be sore.

Oh well, at least it’s the good kind of sore.

Leave a Reply

