Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

Getting to goal, one choice at a time …

Reese Witherspoon accidentally boosted my blog traffic

Here’s the totally true, completely baffling story of how Reese Witherspoon has sent tons of blog traffic my way.

Source: BestCelebrityHairstyles.com

Little did I know, when I wrote a short post about my new haircut a few weeks ago, it’d bring readers to my blog. In the post, I lamented the fact that I never know what to say to the stylist … With no plan, the first thing that popped out of my mouth last time was “side-swept bangs” a la Reese Witherspoon.  (I’d recently seen the photo on Pinterest.)

Since that post went live on Feb. 18, I’ve seen a big bump in traffic for my little blog. The top search terms have been “reese witherspoon haircuts,” “reese witherspoon weight gain 2012″ and “reese side swept bangs.”

It’s currently my most popular post of the last week, with 25 views.

She’s more than a model for good haircuts, though. Just the other day, I read an article from the Washington Post about her work combatting domestic violence. And “Legally Blonde” and “Sweet Home Alabama” are still two of my favorite romantic comedies.

There you have it: The strange, but true story of how Reese Witherspoon made my blog a little more popular.

If writing about celebs gets me more blog hits, maybe I should do it more often!

3 comments on “Reese Witherspoon accidentally boosted my blog traffic

  1. yoyoliving
    March 1, 2012

    I like both of those ‘romantic’ comedies.
    You just never know what will bring people to your blog….I never woulda guessed that a post about the weght-watcher points for my lunch plus a snickers candybar would be what brings others to my blog either. Never knew “snickers” was so popular.

    • Arlene Hittle
      March 1, 2012

      People are funny, for sure … or at least internet search engines are.

      Snickers is one of my favorite candy bars, actually — that and Almond Joy.

  2. Sarah
    June 5, 2012

    I might have to try that for sure. Funny and inspiring here :-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2012 by in Day-to-Day and tagged , , .

Losing weight is easy …

... if you're in a coma, maybe. Most of us have to work at it — every day and every minute. It's not easy to make the right choices, to drink water instead of (diet) soda, pick the grilled chicken sandwich instead of a burger or choose to get up and get moving instead of lounging around in bed. After too many months of making the wrong choices under the guise of dabbling with paleo eating, I've re-joined Weight Watchers (online). My choices may no longer be low-carb or Whole30 or paleo, but the concept is the same: I'm still getting closer to my goal weight one choice at a time.

I’m a Diet-To-Go Ambassador

Arlene’s Tweets

Archives

#elf4health Challenge Participant

The Lean Green Bean

#MoveHappy

Better With Veggies

Let’s talk

Have a question, comment or suggestion? Email me at arleneawl@gmail.com

I’m in

Disclaimer

Please note that I’m not a doctor, registered dietitian or fitness expert. I'm merely sharing my experiences with weight loss, cooking and life. This is what works for me. That doesn't mean it will work for you. When it comes to your health and fitness, do your research.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 605 other followers

