Kitchen fail?

After spotting a picture of an egg baked in an avocado on Pinterest, I knew I had to try it for myself. It seemed like the perfect way to use the other half of the avocado I’d sliced into a couple of days earlier.

The article seemed straightforward enough: Preheat oven to 425 degrees F, remove pit from avocado half, crack egg into it and bake until it’s as done as you like it.

It should have been easy, right?

Wrong. I ended up with this:

Yes, I added a bit of cheese to my egg.

Most of the egg white ended up on the stone baking dish, probably because the little bugger slid right off the avocado when I cracked it. I scooped some of it up and put it back where it belonged — but a lot of it got left behind. Luckily, I’d sprayed my dish with cooking spray, so the crisp egg came up easily.

My conclusion? I should have used either a bigger avocado half or a smaller egg.

Oh well. Once I topped it with a little salsa, I couldn’t complain.

Cheese and salsa can make almost anything taste better.

Can something delicious be considered a kitchen fail? I think not.

Next time, I might try scooping a bit of the center out of my avocado to make a bigger indentation for the egg. The excess avocado can be chopped and mixed with salsa — or just thrown back on top of the egg when it comes out of the oven.

Maybe I should mix it with some cheese. Egg and cheese go together like … like bread and butter. Cherries and chocolate. French fries and ketchup. Chips and salsa.

Oops. I’d better stop there. Don’t want to make myself hungry.

Leave a Reply

