Breaking a bad habit

Today I realized something: I snack a lot.

My snacks aren’t bad for me β€” with the possible exception of the midafternoon Starbucks concoction. But that can’t be considered a snack when it takes the place of lunch, right? πŸ˜‰

There are, however, a lot of them. On Wednesday, I snacked right through the afternoon and into the evening.

First, it was three slices of salami spread with 1 T cream cheese. Then a 3 p.m. “lunch” of a premade salad from the produce department at Safeway … 1/4 cup of curried walnuts … a stick of colby-Jack cheese … two stalks of celery with 3 T nut butter.

Dinner (at about 8 p.m.) consisted of Pesto Chicken Salad (from the New Atkins for a New You Cookbook) wrapped in lettuce leaves. And at about 10, I had something sweet: An Atkins caramel nut roll β€” kind of like a Snickers, but with a lot fewer carbs.

All were eaten at my desk, when I had a few spare moments β€” desktop dining at its finest.

I think I need to designate a time to leave my desk and eat a real dinner … like a normal person. The nutritionist I consulted a couple of times between Atkins and WW suggested that.

Better to take her advice to heart late than never, right?

While I try to break the snack habit, I’ll also be trying to develop an exercise habit. I lapped the mall a couple of extra times for 5 to 10 minutes of walking.

Still not much, I know β€” but it’s better than nothing.

I’ll just have to take the following advice to heart:

Spotted this image on Pinterest, too. Very motivational, that site.

Leave a Reply

