Cravings slain

It’s not that I was jonesing for pizza so much as I’d seen it pop up on several of my favorite blogs and thought, “That looks good. Maybe I’ll make my own.”

That’s exactly what I did. I made myself a low-carb pizza, crust and all. Okay, it was just a tortilla topped with 1 1/2 tablespoons of tomato sauce, 1/4 cup of zucchini, 1/2 ounce of mini pepperoni, a slice of muenster cheese and 1/4 cup Parmesan (I was out of mozzarella.) Simple but delicious … And it totally hit the pizza spot.

Along with my pizza, I enjoyed a homemade peppermint mocha drink. Yes, another Starbucks knock-off. What can I say? I can save cash and carbs by doing it myself.

In the mix:
• 1 pkt Starbucks Via, dissolved in 1/4 cup hot water
• 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk
• 2 tablespoons heavy cream
• 2 tablespoons Hershey’s sugar-free chocolate syrup
• 1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract
Put ice in the hot coffee to cool it a little. Mix coconut milk, cream, syrup and extract in a tall glass. (I used my new Blender Bottle.) Add coffee and more ice. Mix well and enjoy.

The peppermint extract makes this drink. You could totally blend everything together for a Frappuccino-like drink, but I still can’t find my ninja power pod. If it doesn’t turn up before Christmas, I might have to buy myself a new one.

20111209-011317.jpg

Leave a Reply

