Worst of the 90s?

The ladies at the Writing Playground, one of the writing blogs I read regularly, shared a list of the worst songs of the 90s, as voted by the readers of Rolling Stone magazine.

There were a few surprises on the list, which is as follows:
1. Aqua, “Barbie Girl”

2. Los Del Rio, “Macarena”

3. Billy Ray Cyrus, “Achy Breaky Heart”

4. Vanilla Ice, “Ice Ice Baby”

5. Chumbawamba, “Tubthumping”

6. Hanson, “MMMBop”

7. Celine Dion, “My Heart Will Go On”

8. Baha Men, “Who Let The Dogs Out?”

9. Right Said Fred, “I’m Too Sexy”

10. 4 Non Blondes, “What’s Up?”

I confess, I LOVE Nos. 5, 9 and 10, and have them on the iPod, alongside fun ’80s songs like “Jessie’s Girl” and “Voices Carry.”

Plenty of worse songs came out in the 90s, I’m sure. What about “Rico Suave”? That one was super lame.

Just goes to reinforce my belief that I don’t get along with critics. If a movie critic hates a new release, I usually think, “That means I’ll love it.” But if a critic waxes poetic, I’m likely to find the movie boring.

I seem to remember disagreeing with whoever put together the “100 worst songs of the 80s” special for VH-1. No. 1 was Starship’s “We Built this City.” I do believe “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” and many, many of my beloved 80s hits made the list. Where was the remake of “I Think We’re Alone Now” (by either Tiffany or Debbie Gibson … don’t remember which one)? That’s what should have made the list.

Then again, maybe I just have no musical taste. I like what I like, popular opinion be damned. 😉

Your turn: What bad 90s song would you put on the 10 worst list? Any songs on the RS list that you’ll confess to liking?

On another note, it’s been a hungry day. Maybe it’s almost that TOM, because I’ve had a bad case of the munchies. Haven’t eaten anything carb-filled, so that’s a plus. Breakfast was a cheese omelet with bacon; lunch was a chicken caesar salad; dinner was leftover meatloaf and brussels sprouts. I snacked on some nuts (about six more than are in 1 serving) and cheese (two colby-jack sticks) and cherry tomatoes; and at about 10 p.m., I ate an Atkins peanut butter bar with another bottle of H20.

I didn’t count carbs, but maybe I should. That actually looks a little low. *pause for calculations* Nope — 24.8. That’s pretty much on-target. I’m trying to aim closer to 30 this week. (Though with the gain, maybe I should drop back down to 25.)

Tomorrow’s my bimonthly writer’s group meeting, and I’m also working in the evening. If I try really hard, maybe I’ll get up early enough to take a walk before we leave.

My softball team’s last double-header, which got rained out last Sunday, is now rescheduled for this Sunday. Keep your fingers crossed that the weather is clear.

One response to “Worst of the 90s?

  1. I can’t believe those songs made the worst of the 90’s! Should be more like best of the 90’s! Ha. Since I’m just a baby and grew up in the 90’s, I loved them all at the time, and still think they’re great!

Leave a Reply

