Who needs noodles?

image

Not me, that’s for sure.

I whipped up a batch of Meat Lasagna from George Stella‘s “Livin’ Low-Carb” book, and I love it. It’s worth the work — especially because it’s really not all that much work.

Yes, it has to bake for 50 minutes. And you have to make a meat layer and a cheese filling. Garlic must be minced (but my Pampered Chef garlic press does that in a jiffy). The house still smelled like garlic when I got home from work last night.

Still, it’s pretty simple to make. You just cook onion and celery (!) in olive oil, add the ground beef and a simple homemade tomato sauce (just a can of tomato sauce with garlic and other spices). The filling includes ricotta, mozzarella and parmesan cheeses, egg, more garlic and other spices.

Have I ever mentioned how much I love garlic? I get that from my Mom. The more garlic, the better.

And instead of multiple layers, you only have to deal with two: Meat on bottom; then cheese filling, topped with more mozzarella.

De-e-e-licious! I’m so glad the pan served eight. I have a couple of servings in the fridge and the rest are in the freezer, ready for a day I need a quick meal.

Leave a Reply

