Dinner is served

image

Ready to serve

image

Before baking

image

The crust: Zucchini and egg

Every so often, I remember that I love to cook. Believe me, it doesn’t happen as much as it should — but Saturday was one of those times.

After a much-needed softball practice, I headed home and hit the kitchen. I wanted something pizza-like that wasn’t my usual crustless pizza. I also had part of a zucchini hanging out in the fridge. I remembered trying a Green Lite Bites recipe for Pizza Bites on zucchini rounds.

Enter my Zucchini-Crusted Meat and Veggie Lover’s Pizza Casserole. (Okay, that name sucks. But you get the idea.)

Here’s the recipe:

1 cup zucchini slices

1 egg, beaten with a splash of H2O

2 T tomato sauce

1/2 cup spinach

1/8 cup mushroom, sliced thin

1/8 cup onion, sliced thin

1 slice ham, chopped

14 pepperoni rounds

1/4 cup mozzarella cheese

2 T Parmesan

Mix egg and zucchini. Place in casserole dish sprayed with cooking spray. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Bake at 375 degrees F for 10 minutes.

Remove from oven. Layer on veggies, meat and cheeses. Return to oven for another 15 minutes.

Let rest for five minutes before you cut and serve. (I think it’ll hold together better if you do that. My first plateful fell apart. When I decided to finish the second half of the pan, the slices came out beautifully.)

It was delicious and Atkins-approved. The whole 8-inch round baking stone worked out to 7.4 net carbs … 5.6 of which come from veggies.

Leave a Reply

