Return of the Green Monster

image

image

Since I went back to the low-carb lifestyle, I’ve been missing one thing more than the rest:

The Green Monster.

Oddly enough, I like drinking my spinach. And since the Green Monster only recently found its way into my life,  I wasn’t ready to give it up yet.

So I picked up some zero-carb protein powder and a bag of spinach and made myself one for lunch.

In the mix: 1 cup unsweetened coconut milk, 1 scoop “natural vanilla” protein powder, 1cup spinach, 2 tablespoons of peanut butter and 3 ice cubes.

It wasn’t bad … but I think next time, I’ll add some Splenda. It wasn’t sweet enough. (Think I was missing the sweetness of the banana in the original version. Of course, bananas are the highest-carb fruit,  so there won’t be any of those in my future. Too bad. I miss banana soft serve, too.)

I ate some cucumbers and blue cheese dip with my smoothie, then downed some cheese an hour or so later. The monster didn’t stick with me as long as I’d hoped.

Breakfast this morning was an omelet with squash, onion and pepper, with a side of bacon. Mmm. Perfection!

2 responses to “Return of the Green Monster

Leave a Reply

