Low-carb recipe: Bacon Cheeseburger Skillet

Here’s one of those catch-up posts I’ve been meaning to write, now that I have the photo uploaded to my library.

Over Memorial Day Weekend, I wanted something burger-y — without the bun, of course. And with veggies, because I’m having a little trouble sneaking in 12-15 grams of veggie carbs each day.

I ran to Safeway to pick up some fresh hamburger and turned it into this masterpiece:

Only one word needed: YUM!

A bacon cheeseburger skillet. I fried up one strip of bacon, added some onion and mushroom to the bacon grease, then cooked the hamburger. Later, a tomato went into the mix and I topped the whole thing with shredded cheese.

The verdict? Delicious! I’ll be whipping this one up again.

Here’s the recipe:

1/2 pound burger (as lean as you want it)

2 T onion, chopped

2 T mushroom, chopped

1 strip bacon

1 tomato

1/2 cup shredded cheese

Salt & pepper to taste

Cook bacon to a crisp and set aside. Add onion and mushroom to the bacon grease. Cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Add burger; cook until just pink. Season with salt and pepper if desired. Add chopped tomato and cook until burger is browned.

Serve, topped with crumbled bacon and cheese.

The whole ginormous plateful is yours for just 5.4 grams of net carbs, 5 of which are veggie carbs.

Leave a Reply

