Very veggie

Elle’s PriorFatGirl post on learning to love veggies couldn’t have come at a better time.

* * *

Huh. I have no idea where I was heading when I started this post, way back in March.

Good thing, then, that the opening line still applies. Now that I’m back on Atkins, I find myself wrestling just a little with the new veggie consumption requirement.

You might remember me saying that when I did Atkins in 2003, the requirement was a total of 3 cups  (1 cup cooked and 2 cups salad, or just 3 cups salad veggies). Piece of (carb-free) cake.

In the “New Atkins For a New You,” the requirement is now to consume 12-15 grams of net carbs’ worth of vegetables. This is much tougher than it sounds.

In my first day of trying, I ate veggies all day long (even with breakfast!) and still came in at 9.9. And I’m still stuffed at nearly 1 a.m.

Wait — I should consider that a good thing.

The key, of course, will be for me to make like a Boy Scout: Be prepared. I’ll snack on veggies sticks (or deviled eggs) if they’re ready to eat.

So I cut myself some cucumber, zucchini and jicama sticks and whipped up some guacamole and a batch of Broccoli Crunch Salad. Now I’m ready to become a champion veggie eater.

Hmm. Wonder if the Scouts give out a badge for eating all your veggies. That’d be nice.

Leave a Reply

