Happy St. Patrick’s Day

St. Patrick’s Day is known for green beer, I know. But who needs icky old beer when you can have …

Fresh from the oven

… green cupcakes!

I had some extra time to kill before work Wednesday, and decided to spend it in the kitchen. Inspired by Roni’s post on GreenLiteBites, I wanted to celebrate the wearin’ o’ the green by dressing some cupcakes for the occasion.

The box of vanilla cake mix was pretty easy to find in my still-not-too-cluttered pantry. I did not, however have the applesauce Roni’s recipe calls for.

Undeterred,  I subbed in a couple of frozen bananas instead. When the bananas and spinach failed to make a good puree in my Ninja Master Prep, I added a spoonful of plain Greek yogurt and a splash of coconut milk.

Ready to enjoy.

They did the trick quite nicely, and soon enough I had a beautiful green cupcake, fresh from the oven.

I added some red, pink and white sprinkles for fun.

Who knew spinach could be so darn delicious in baked goods? Not me, that’s for sure.

I took several into the office to share. I’m going to say it: I work with a bunch of chickens. I didn’t even tell them what made the cupcakes green, and still no one wanted to try one. (Okay, maybe their lack of interest had something to do with the chips and guacamole already mostly gone when I arrived … or the doughnuts that arrived shortly thereafter. I admit, I ate a doughnut — with sprinkles, even though I’d just had a cupcake.)

That’s OK. It just means there are more for me. Or maybe I’ll take them with me to my romance writer’s group meeting on Saturday.

Love that green!

Gorgeous — and better for you. What could be better?

Leave a Reply

