Out with the junk

I’m trying to get in the swing of my new “crowd it out” plan. With that goal in mind, I created a week’s worth of meal plans Sunday night: Breakfast, lunch, dinner and two to three small snacks for Monday through Friday, with some flexibility built in for a weekend with the Boyfriend.

Of course, I didn’t completely trust myself to come up with this fantastic, healthy new plan on my own. Instead,  I relied on some of the things in this issue of Clean Eating magazine.

That made today Day One of my the rest of my healthy new life.

It included:

  • Overnight Oats (made with almond milk and a handful of Craisins) w/ a dollop of PB and half a banana mixed in
  • A coconut-mocha frappe while I was writing @ Bookmans
  • A Sandwich Thin spread with leftover guacamole & 2 slices ham
  • 2 T hummus w/ 2 rye crisps
  • Marinated Greek veggies I picked up from the grocery store deli Friday
  • Leftover Last-Minute Lasagna … and
  • 3/4 cup Greek yogurt w/ 2 T oats & 2 tsp honey

A lot of good, whole food in there. I even have one last snack planned for the day — a hard-boiled egg on a Sandwich Thin smeared with a little light mayo.

Since it’s nearly 1 a.m. and I’m not sure I want another snack, it may be repurposed for tomorrow. I already had to kiss my Black Bean & Zucchini Quesadilla lunch goodbye because I had the chance to attend a write-in at Bookmans instead. (Afterward, while I was making snacks & dinner to take with me to work, I had the guac & ham sandwich instead. At least it wasn’t the drive-thru, right?)

The amazing thing is that I haven’t been clamoring for something to eat all day. I didn’t even eat my lasagna, which was the bulk of my dinner, until after 8 p.m. (I did have the accompanying veggies at around 6:30, though.)

Okay, maybe that’s not so amazing. We all know good, whole foods are “filling foods” and we should be eating more of them.

Why, why, why do I have to keep relearning such simple truths?

4 responses to “Out with the junk

  1. Pingback: Spreading the link love | Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life·

Leave a Reply

