Is this man ruining my diet?

Oh-so-tempting ... (the food, not Adam)

Y’all might have seen “Man vs. Food” on the Travel Channel. Adam Richman, left, visits a city, waxes poetic about various restaurants in the city (that always seem to serve gigantic burgers, the “best pizza on the planet” or something else that’s completely unhealthy but looks to-die-for delicious) and then takes on a challenge to eat a 72-ounce steak … or six bowls of super-hot chili … or a 12-egg omelet stuffed with a full pound of potatoes … or a burger bigger than his head.

Often, Food wins. But sometimes, Adam sucks it up, eats copious amount of whatever it is and Man prevails.

I like the show. I love Adam’s sense of humor. I even enjoy seeing the various creations.

While the Boyfriend and I were watching it on Wednesday, he said, “This is stupid. You shouldn’t be watching this. It makes you hungry.”

Is he right? Do I need to swear off “Man vs. Food”?

I admit, I do watch and think, “That looks yummy.” Then I start to obsess about whatever it is. I usually don’t do anything about it (although if I were watching at my place, where it’s easier to make a burger run, who knows what I’d do?), but the thought’s in my head. It could well influence my choices the next day.

Well, hell. Maybe I should put my “out of sight, out of mind” theory into practice. If I don’t watch “Man vs. Food,” I won’t crave giant hamburgers or crisp-fried, crinkle-cut fries.

You think that’ll work? Have you ever watched “Man vs. Food”? How do you avoid temptation?

One response to “Is this man ruining my diet?

Leave a Reply

