Going homemade

Since I was up until 3:30 a.m., working on my nephew’s (late) Christmas gift, I slept until 1 p.m.  That gave me barely enough time to eat before getting ready to go to work.

It wasn’t because of my yet-to-be announced resolution to cook more of my own meals that I fixed lunch for myself. I didn’t want to dig out my car. Friday is soon enough for that.

I decided to make myself a burrito-burger of sorts, with green chiles, cheddar cheese and a Boca patty wrapped in a 100-calorie tortilla. I served it with some homemade garlic Foreman fries and a salad topped with salsa.

Not as delicious as the one from Burrito-Burger, for sure.

Passably tasty, but next time I think I’ll use more chiles and a real hamburger patty. Normally I like veggie burgers, but this time its flavor was a little strong. (Hence, the extra peppers … and maybe a little more cheese. I only used 2 T.)

I also just remembered the ones from Burrito-Burger also have mayo on them. Hmm … That might help.

I can take comfort in the fact that I ate a lot fewer calories than I would have had I driven across town. And I needed to, considering the slice of pizza and two more almond-coconut candies I ate at the office throughout the evening.

That was on top of the Lean Cuisine, my breakfast Overnight Oats (that I used as a late snack) and two Oreo Balls I brought myself from home.

Well, it could have been worse. So could my late Christmas gift. Last year, poor Alex didn’t get his Christmas gift until Halloween!

Leave a Reply

