Now it feels like Christmas

I spent most of the day in the kitchen, baking up a storm. I was on my feet from 10:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. — didn’t sit down once.

The result of all that baking?

Butter Cookies, Mexican Wedding Cakes and Tollhouse cookies with mint and dark chocolate chips. Mmm!

A batch of my Mom’s Butter Cookies, a Christmas tradition for my family, was first on the agenda. I made the dough the old-fashioned way, by hand … no newfangled stand mixer for this girl.

Once it was chilling in the fridge, I started a batch of Tollhouse cookies with mint and dark chocolate chips. By the time I was done making and baking those, the Butter Cookie dough was ready to be rolled and cut into my favorite holiday shapes. (Trees and snowmen top the list, but I can fit more candy canes and stars on the dough.)

After the Butter Cookies, I decided to try making a batch of Mexican Wedding Cakes. The recipe was right below the one for butter cookies in the blue-covered recipe book I inherited from Mom.

I was skeptical when I realized the recipe called for no eggs. But they turned out just the way I remember them: sweet, light and delicious.

Another batch of Oreo Balls was also on my list, as was a second attempt at the Golden Eggnog Loaf.

Golden Eggnog Loaf just isn’t my recipe.

I’ve decided that eggnog loaf just isn’t my recipe. Yes, I failed again. I tried the Bundt pan, like I said I might. There was no Grand Canyon of cake this time — but I couldn’t get it out of the pan.

It still tastes OK, but it definitely doesn’t look pretty.

Lucky for me, my other cookies turned out great. The only bad thing? There are a darn lot of them. The photo below doesn’t even include the Oreo Balls, which were still chilling in the freezer when I snapped it.

The stash. Yes, I’m giving tons of them away.

Don’t worry. I have no intention of eating them all myself.

I’m taking a tin to our office holiday party tomorrow at noontime; and giving two other tins away as gifts.

I’m glad I baked, though. It’s something we did in my family, and it doesn’t feel like Christmas if I don’t at least whip up some Butter cookies.

I’ve streamlined the decorating process, though. Mom used to frost each one by hand, and my brother and I put on the sprinkles or colored sugar. Nowadays, I drizzle the frosting over the  cookies with a fork, then toss on the decorations.

The result might not look as pretty, but it also takes half the time — and since I don’t have anyone to help me decorate, I don’t have time enough to do all that work on  my own.

One response to “Now it feels like Christmas

  1. What a great day of baking. It’s been a while since I had Mexican wedding cakes – but I remember really enjoying them. Happy Holidays.

Leave a Reply

