Cookie recipes

ButterCookiesYou asked for it, so I’m going to share Mom’s recipes for Butter Cookies and Mexican Wedding Cakes.

OK, no one really asked for it (yet). I just feel like sharing. ‘Tis the season, after all — and these recipes are tried and true.

Some people are butter cookie folks; others are sugar cookie people. Our family has always been butter cookie people. My mom got the recipe from her mother, and I got it from my mom. They’re lighter and flakier than sugar cookies — and a lot less sweet.

Apparently, Kelly Ripa is also butter cookie folk. I’ll never forget the year Mom called me, all excited because Kelly Ripa was making her butter cookies on TV.

Of course this recipe hasn’t been healthified in the slightest. When I was doing Atkins, I tried making them with Splenda instead of sugar. They tasted fine, but the tops got all crinkly instead of staying smooth.

Butter Cookies

1 cup soft butter

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg, unbeaten

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

3 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix together butter, sugar, egg and vanilla thoroughly. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Add gradually to butter mixture.

Wrap in wax paper (I use Saran Wrap) and chill an hour or longer. Roll to 1/8-inch thick. Cut with cookie cutters. Place on ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake at 400 degrees F about 8 minutes. Cool and decorate as desired.

The Mexican Wedding Cakes are another recipe my Mom used to make for the holidays. This year, I decided to give them a try.

Mexican Wedding Cakes

Mix together:

1 cup soft butter

1/2 cup sifted confectioner’s sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

Sift together and stir:

2 1/4 cups flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup chopped nuts (Mom used pecans, but I had walnuts on hand)

Gradually add flour mixture to butter mixture. Roll into small-ish balls.

Bake at 400 degrees F for 10-12 minutes. Roll in confectioners sugar; cool and roll again.

Yield 4 dozen. (I got 44 cookies.)

Butter Cookies, Mexican Wedding Cakes and Tollhouse cookies with mint and dark chocolate chips. Mmm!

One response to “Cookie recipes

  1. Pingback: A little holiday fun « Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life·

Leave a Reply

