Holiday singalong

Christmas music is one of my favorite parts of the season.

I admit, I was slightly perturbed when my favorite radio station started playing holiday songs on Thanksgiving Day. For me, the day after Thanksgiving is soon enough to start the “all Christmas songs, all the time” programming.

The fact remains, listening to holiday music always puts me in a good mood.

That’s why I was surprised to see a story on the Associated Press wire the other day, in which Bulgarians voted Wham’s “Last Christmas” the most annoying holiday song. Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas is You” was second.

I’d agree with them about Mariah Carey … but I like the Wham song. Plenty of songs are more annoying than “Last Christmas.”

Take “The Twelve Days of Christmas,” for example. Never mind that it’s so repetitive I want to stuff cotton in my ears by verse six. Who on earth gets their true love “ten lords a-leaping” and “nine ladies” dancing? And who in their right mind would accept a menagerie of birds?

Obviously, that’s not my favorite Christmas carol. Also annoying is that song about the bells. You know the one that repeats the same three notes over and over again? As a former flute player who had to play those same three notes, ad infinitum, I can tell you that song sucks.

I’d actually be hard-pressed to pick a favorite. I’m partial to “The Little Drummer Boy, but “There’s No Place Like Home for the Holidays” is nice, too. So is “Sleigh Ride.” (It brings back much more pleasant band memories. Will the trumpet soloist actually hit the horse whinny at the end?) And I can’t forget the John Cougar Mellencamp version of “I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus” or Adam Sandler’s “Hanukkah Song.”

And anything off the “Christmas Comedy Classics” album is a winner, too. That was my family’s favorite Christmas collection when I was growing up. It includes classics like “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer,” “The Chipmunk Song” and “Nuttin’ for Christmas.”

Do you have a favorite Christmas song? Let me know what it is!

2 responses to “Holiday singalong

Leave a Reply

