Baking at this hour?

It’s nearly 1 a.m. and I have something baking in the oven. No, I’m not crazy. And I’m not even particularly craving this food … even though I am interested to see what it tastes like.

I was working on this Wednesday’s food page when I saw a recipe for “Golden Eggnog Loaf.” Intrigued, I decided I wanted to make one for myself. Lucky for me, I had some eggnog in the fridge. (I can link to the recipe here because it’s already run in another paper.)

Turns out I didn’t have any ginger, though. Figures. We have a whole cabinet full of spices, but no ginger. I subbed in some pumpkin pie spice instead. I also swapped whole wheat flour for a portion of the regular flour. Thought about using just 2/3 cup of sugar instead of a full cup, but decided that’d probably mess up the proportions.

Whether these changes will hurt the finished product remains to be seen. Right now, all I can tell you for certain is that it smells wonderful.

Just a few minutes until the timer goes off.

* * *

The timer sounded, but the cake/bread wasn’t done yet. Toothpick didn’t come out clean. I put it back in for another 5 minutes, so it’s back to waiting.

Here we go again …

OK, it was done this time. However, I don’t think it’s supposed to look quite like this:

Grand Canyon of cake

It looks a little better now that I turned it out of the pan.

A little better

Right before I put the batter into the loaf pan, I considered using a Bundt pan instead. I didn’t, though, mainly because I’d already greased the loaf pan.

Ah, laziness. But in my defense, the recipe calls for using a loaf pan. I’m going to blame my Grand Canyon of cake on the high altitude. 😉

I guess the good news is that the crumbs are pretty tasty. Once it cools a little, I’ll be trying a slice like this:

Golden Eggnog Loaf

It tastes as good as it looks. Maybe a little too sweet, though. Guess I should have omitted some of the sugar.

Hmm. I have some more eggnog. I may experiment with this again. The crisp edges are definitely the best part, so perhaps a Bundt pan would be good.

2 responses to “Baking at this hour?

Leave a Reply

