VitaTop recipe contest idea

Remember when I said I won a free sampler pack of VitaTops through a contest at Roni’s Weigh?

My VitaTops arrived last week, and now that I’m done with NaNoWriMo, I actually have some time to spend in the kitchen again.

Tonight, I polished off the rest of the leftover turkey with a side of this:

See it peeking out from its Pampered Chef baking stone?

What is this, you ask? Stuffing, of course.

But it’s not just any stuffing. This is healthy stuffing, made with — among other things — a CranBran VitaTop.

Better yet, it’s delicious, too. Just slightly sweet and very satisfying.

The recipe, as I made it:

1 teaspoon olive oil

2 Tablespoons finely chopped onion

1/2 cup diced zucchini

1 Tablespoon Craisins

2 small slices pumpernickel bread

1 thawed CranBran VitaTop

1/2 cup chicken broth

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Heat oil in small skillet. Sautee onion and zucchini about 5 minutes, until soft. Add Craisins and cook another minute or so.

While the veggies cook, tear bread and muffin into bite-sized pieces. Turn off heat and add to skillet. Add chicken broth and stir until moistened.

Put into small baking dish and bake 20 minutes. (I think it might have benefitted from another 10 or so in the oven, but I was running out of time on my dinner break).

The result:

CranBran Stuffing with leftover turkey and brussels sprouts. Mmmm.

 

 

Sorry the picture turned out blurry. I don’t know why my camera does that sometimes.

Like I said before: Delicious. And the variations are probably endless. If you prefer your stuffing with celery, cook it with the onion. (Me, I’m not a celery fan. I’d rather have zucchini any day.) And use your favorite bread. (I happened to have pumpernickel in the fridge.)

7 responses to “VitaTop recipe contest idea

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention VitaTop recipe contest idea | Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life -- Topsy.com·

  2. Pingback: Cranbran Vitatops 24·

  3. Pingback: Medic Facility blog on health » Blog Archive » VitaTop Recipe Contest – Please Vote!·

  4. Pingback: Medic Facility blog on health » Blog Archive » And The VitaTop Winners are…·

Leave a Reply

