Perfect oatmeal

Who needs Starbucks for perfect oatmeal? Not me!

I think I’ve mentioned, I’m not a huge fan of hot oatmeal. That’s why I love Overnight Oats so much. I’ve been making the CarbLovers Banana Walnut Oatmeal cold as a substitute. It’s pretty great, and one of my go-to breakfasts on the plan.

That might have to change now that I’ve tried the CarbLovers Diet recipe for Apple & Almond Muesli. Packed with apples and almonds and sweetened with just a touch of honey, it could easily become my new favorite.

The new Perfect Oatmeal.

I can tell you, it wasn’t the oatmeal’s fault I went off the rails on Saturday. I did not order a salad (though the other salads I saw come to the table looked delicious). I did get a burger and fries … and then stopped at Del Taco on my way home from work because I was ravenous. (I got … you guessed it … more fries — and a burrito. Jeez. I need a 12-step program for fast food.)

Anyway, I’m not going to bore you with a long, drawn-out account of my weekend of sin. Suffice it to say, it was not pretty … and I’ll probably pay for it at the scale.

Look for a few short catch-up posts throughout the week. I tried a few other new recipes (all tasty) and have a couple of 30 days reflections to catch up with. I actually enjoy the introspection … I should probably do more of it.

2 responses to “Perfect oatmeal

  1. Arlene, I know you aren’t looking for excuses, but I admire you for doing as well as you do with the schedule you have. I think you are doing great and I love your recipe posts. Sharon

Leave a Reply

