Getting creative in the kitchen

What do you do with a spare pouch of cheese sauce from a box of Kraft Mac & Cheese Deluxe?

I had a chance to find out today. The Boyfriend gave me a pouch of cheese sauce from a ruined batch of noodles (along with two other boxes of mac & cheese).

With no clue what to do for dinner, I decided to get creative with the cheese sauce.

This is what you can do with a spare pouch of cheese sauce.

First, I put on a pot of water for 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat penne. I chopped half a broccoli crown (about 1 1/2 cups), adding that and 1/2 cup of frozen peas in the last two minutes of cooking time. (I cooked it only 8 minutes, instead of the recommended 8-12, because I planned to put the whole thing in the oven.

While the pasta was cooking, I grabbed the casserole dish. For protein, I decided to toss in a can of chicken breast. (I bought a bunch of canned chicken breast from Sam’s Club a dog’s age ago and have had trouble using it up.) I also added a 14 1/2-ounce can of tomatoes, drained, and 4 tablespoons of sliced olives.

I mixed together the pasta, veggies and cheese pouch, and threw it all into a 375-degree oven for 20 minutes.

It made four 1 1/2 cup servings, but I have no idea how many WW Points it was because I have no stats for the cheese sauce itself. The pasta was 4; the chicken added 10 more; and the veggies added 0.

Any guesses about the Points on a pouch of cheese sauce?

I wouldn’t say it was haute cuisine, but it was pretty tasty. (Good thing, since I have three more servings!)

One response to “Getting creative in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

