Something sweet

When I saw this recipe for Sweet Potato Blondies over at Carrots N Cake this morning, I knew I had to whip up a batch for myself.

I had nearly everything on hand already. All I needed to do was pick up a sweet potato.

I admit to being a little skeptical when I read the recipe closely. Where were the eggs? Milk? … Something to make the dough/batter mix up easily.

Sticky, but sweet.

Nope. The only liquid in the whole recipe is 2 T of canola oil (making the recipe WW friendly!). The batter turned out very heavy and sticky. It was tough to mix, and I ended up with a blister on  my finger. (Next time, I think I’ll use something with more padding than a table fork.)

I modified Tina’s recipe slightly, doubling the amount of cinnamon and adding 1/3 cup of mini chocolate chips.

Ready to bake

Into the pan they went.  The baking took about 25 minutes, during which I entered the ingredients into the recipe calculator at SparkPeople.com. Cut into 16 squares, they came out to 3 WW Points per serving.

Not too shabby, I suppose. And the kitchen smelled divine!

Fresh from the oven

I managed to wait long enough to let the blondies cool, then cut them and wrapped one to take to work. I enjoyed it with a Mocha Frappuccino Light. Mmm on both counts!
I think I’ll be making these again. But for now, I have about half the batch in the freezer. I left two squares out to eat in the next couple of days, but figured having more would just lead to trouble.
Speaking of trouble, I didn’t have too much of that staying on track today. After dinner of a veggie burger on a Sandwich Thin, a serving of Popchips and an apple, I’d consumed just 29 WW Points.
Yes, it was Election Night at the office, and — as is newsroom tradition — the editor brought us pizza and wings. After having a slice of high-quality pizza for lunch, I avoided the pizza, but did nibble on four wings.
Annoyingly enough, Papa John’s listing in the WW Dining Out Companion does not list Points for wings, just pizza and breadsticks.
I stayed after work to finish putting together the NARWA newsletter, and when I got home, I ate another blondie while putting them away. When they look like this, can you blame me?

Cut and ready for consumption

In the words of Rachael Ray, yum-o!

One response to “Something sweet

  1. Yum. I saw this too and snagged the recipe for my files. I’m glad to hear you liked them, too. If today weren’t my WI day, I might have made them yesterday!

Leave a Reply

