Need more oats

Bought these on a Wednesday night and the canister was low a week later.

Overnight Oats, a favorite with Tina over at Carrots N Cake, are quickly becoming one of my faves, too. I love the way the liquid (usually almond milk for me) mixes with the rolled oats and plumps up the dried fruit. Then there’s the peanut butter. You can’t go wrong with a spoonful of peanut butter in your breakfast!

Only one word needed: Yum!

But if I’m going to keep fixing Overnight Oats every morning, I think I need to invest in a bigger container of oats next time.

I picked up an 18-ounce canister of the store brand for $2.49 on my way home from work on a Wednesday. I had OO every morning but one, and a week later, the canister was already nearly empty.

No, I’m not eating excessive amounts … just the recommended serving size of 1/2 cup. (They expand in the liquid and that 1/2 cup is really quite filling.)

The store does sell a bigger one for $5. Guess I’m going to have to trade up.

I see re-use in this guy’s future.

Until then, I just might hit the bulk foods bin at my local health food store. Last time I was there (when I picked up the coconut milk I’m not so fond of), I noticed old-fashioned oats sold for $1.69 a pound.

I’m not that great at math, but it seem to me that’s a better deal than paying $2.49 for a canister at the grocery store. The canister is only slightly larger than a pound and costs 80 cents more.

Hmm … I bet I can save the canister and keep refilling it with bags of oats from the health food store.

With me reusing packaging, we’re all one step closer to a greener planet. Right? Right. 😉

Leave a Reply

