Christmas in July?

Red and green seem to be a theme in my dinners lately. With such bright holiday hues, it’s almost like Christmas in July.

Stuffed Zucchini is tasty even without parsley and Parmesan on top.

One night, I tried the Stuffed Zucchini Pizza Style (with Feta, Of Course) that Roni posted over at Green Lite Bites.

Even though I forgot to add the Parmesan and parsley, my stuffed zucchini was delicious. I’ll definitely make it again.

Another night’s red and green dinner  was completely my own creation, though I’m sure others have thrown together similar dishes.

It might not look pretty, but this veggie/couscous concoction tasted delicious.

Mine was born of my attempt to clean out the pantry before taking off for vacation. My box of couscous is nearly gone, so I whipped up a serving of that, adding a handful of chopped onion, some mushrooms and a spoonful of tomato paste. I added a whole zucchini, which I’d cut into sticks (like fries) and grilled. Topped it off with a Morningstar Farms chick’n patty, then dug in.

Did I already say it was delicious? I’ll say it again, but in the words of Rachael Ray: Yum-o! I’ll probably be making it again, too — especially since it was ready in less than 20 minutes.

Anyone out there in the blogosphere have a fave red-and-green meal they want to share? I’d love to hear about it!

2 responses to “Christmas in July?

  1. Simple pasta salad: Whole Grain shells, chopped home grown tomatoes, fresh basil made into confetti strips, with a light red wine vinegar/EVOO dressing. A go-to summer meal that boasts the colors of the Italian Flag!

Leave a Reply

