Brightening a sad day

Pretty!

I love rainbows — have ever since my friend Michelle and I did a science fair project on them back in the fifth grade. (We got a second-place ribbon.)

This rainbow, spotted on my way home from work for my dinner break helped make my day just a little better.

Why was it bad? Well, I went shopping.

Now, normally a shopping trip would be good news. I haven’t had money to shop in a long time, and I love to shop (more than I love rainbows, actually). But today, I had to buy clothes in a bigger size.

Not exactly what I’m aiming to do here, is it?

I guess it’s a good thing to have some comfortable clothes that fit. I’m actually wearing one of the new pairs of capri pants right now. But I hate, hate, hate having to buy them in a larger size.

There’s not much else I can say on that subject, so I’ll move on to my fairly healthy (and quick-to-fix) dinner.

Couscous is great. Cook some up, toss it with a few other ingredients and you have a homemade, healthier version of Hamburger Helper.

Veggies sauteeing on the messy stovetop.

Tonight’s dinner involved a serving of whole wheat couscous mixed with leftover salsa; mushrooms, corn and onion sauteed in a skillet with a sprinkling of taco seasoning; and a Morningstar Farms spicy black bean burger.

It tasted better than it looks, and I think it looks pretty darn good! It was colorful and packed with flavor.

I’m still getting ready for my trip. My shopping trip was one thing I had to do. I also did a couple loads of laundry. (Exciting, I know.)

Dinner in all its glory. Yum!

Perhaps more importantly, at least for my faithful followers, I’ve been writing blog posts that I can set up now to publish while I’m gone. You probably won’t be getting one a day for the entire two weeks I’m out of town, but I’ll try to publish on a fairly regular schedule.

I’ll also try to post short updates on Twitter, when my cell phone gets a signal. (Apparently I may be signal-less for a few days.) You can follow me here.

2 responses to “Brightening a sad day

  1. Been there–buying new, bigger capris–fairly recently, in April. You have to have something you can wear and the financial and emotional pain of buying new will help spur you back to your older, slimmer clothes. I’m still glad I got rid of almost all of my “big” clothes. It would have been too comfortable to just pull them off the shelf and quietly gain and gain. Love you rainbow pic–mine never turn out the way I saw the rainbow. Happy road trip.

    • Thanks. That’s a good way to look at it. I think it’s working, too. I awakened with a new resolve to do better.

Leave a Reply

