The long awaited (by me, at least) pantry post

I have a problem: I hoard food.

There. I said it. My pantry needs to be cleaned out, but I have so much stuff in there that I don’t know where to start.

The sweets section

Seriously. I could probably feed a family of four for a month with the stuff I have stored (provided, of course, it hasn’t expired).

I think the problem is a lack of menu planning. I buy when stuff is on sale, and I buy what looks good when I’m at the store. But I don’t really pick things up with a specific meal plan in mind.

Pasta & grains?

Consequently, when I get ready to eat, nothing I have looks good. That’s right. I have a pantry full of food and yet have “nothing to eat.”

See why I need help? I know there’s stuff I can eat — good, healthy stuff that’s OP. But I can’t seem to find it when breakfast, lunch and dinner roll around.

Canned goods

All this pantry clutter must go, mostly because my roommate wants to put in real pantry shelves. (We have  those stupid wire shelves that come standard in manufactured homes, and small things fall through all the time.) She and her husband plan to install real shelving while I’m out of town on vacation at the end of the month.

My overflow stash on the floor

As you can see, I have a lot of stuff to get rid of before then.

So far, I’ve managed to get rid of:

A box of pudding

A can of turkey chili

A box of cake mix

With my new discovery of Overnight Oats in a Jar from Carrots N Cake, I’ll soon polish off a jar of peanut butter and canister of old-fashioned oats.

But that’s just the tip of the iceberg. I guess I need to take stock of what I have so I can start planning meals that use it up. That’s how I ended up eating couscous, chili and spinach for dinner Tuesday night. I saw the chili sitting on the floor and decided it had to go.

Planning isn’t necessarily a bad thing, either. After all, isn’t there a saying about it? “If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.”

Meal planning might just help me get to goal. It’d sure make eating out less tempting, because I tend to do that when I don’t know what I want to eat at home.

3 responses to “The long awaited (by me, at least) pantry post

  1. Why is that? It looks great when I buy it, but then it doesn’t look nearly as good when it comes time to eat it. It sits in the pantry, gathering dust.

  2. Pingback: Let the decluttering begin | Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life·

Leave a Reply

