Great minds

Spinach salad with bacon, mushroom, onion and strawberries. Yum!

Last night for dinner, I fixed myself a salad (like I said I would). I sauteed some onion, mushrooms and bacon bits in 1 tsp olive oil. Needing to use them up before they went bad, I also sliced up some of the strawberries I bought last payday.

I threw all these goodies atop 2 cups of spinach. For dressing, I used French salad spritzer (10 sprays = 1 serving w/ 15 calories).

The result was delicious. I wasn’t surprised … I love bacon, onion and mushrooms. Adding said toppings to leafy greens can only result in goodness. 😉

I was, however, surprised to find a similar recipe posted at Green Lite Bites today. Guess it’s true that great minds think alike. 😉

Roni’s version, the Red White & Blue Sweet Summer Salad, includes feta, blueberries and strawberries, along with poppyseed dressing. Sounds delish. And festive, with today being the Fourth of July and all.

Hot dog and salad with strawberries, mushrooms & feta

It sounded so delish, in fact, that I added feta to the spinach, mushrooms and strawberries I made  a salad with for lunch today. (I also had a Hebrew National FF hot dog on a rectangular Sandwich Thin … I think they’re called “Fill ’ems.”

Tasty — and only 4 Points for all that food.

Since I slept through breakfast, I’m having trouble getting enough points for the day. I’ve already had an after-work snack (inspired by another of Roni’s recipes) and still have 4 Points left.

Photo turned out fuzzy, but the dessert was delicious.

The snack involved two corn tortillas, 1/4 cup of chopped fresh cherries and 1 T chocolate chips. I made a quesadilla of sorts. It, too, was delicious. At 4.5 Points, it’s a little high, but it was also very satisfying.

I ate produce at every meal. My attempt to revive a love of fruits and veggies is off to a rip-roaring start.

Leave a Reply

