Renewing my love affair with produce

I know I’ve quoted Yoda before: There is no try. Only do … or not do.

If that’s true (and I believe it is), I’m not doing a very good job of renewing my love affair with produce.

Beautiful berries!

Oh, I have the best of intentions. Produce always looks delicious … like these berries. I’m seduced by the brilliant colors and sweet or savory scents.

But when it comes time for me to do something with my pretty, pretty produce, I’m at a loss. I end up letting it go to waste in the fridge.

It’s not that I don’t have the desire. When I look at, say a salad Tina fixes for lunch and puts up on Carrots N Cake, I think, “That looks delicious. I want one.”

Yet somehow, I always end up eating something a lot less healthy. I think part of my problem is the (mistaken) belief that salad is not substantial enough to make a meal.

Why? Well, it might have something to do with my low-carb days. I’m a carnivore. I LOVE meat. (That’s one reason it was so easy for me to lose on Atkins. I never got tired of steaks, burger-based meals, bacon and eggs. Deviled eggs were a particular fave.) Of course, I ate my veggies — 2 cups of salad veggies or 1 cup salad veggies and 1 cup of other veggies every day. But my salads always included meat and cheese, too.

Anyway, I still want something substantial … something that’ll stick to my ribs. Even though I know the WW Filling Foods will keep me full longer, I want that doggone burger, not a salad.

Spinach, Feta & Mushroom Pita Pizza

I’m trying to change my ways. A recent dinner managed to be substantial without being meat-laden.

Inspired by Roni’s pizza experiment with feta cheese, I swung by Safeway on my way home for dinner. After picking up some reduced-fat feta, I set about making a pizza of my own.

I used a whole wheat pita instead of a low-carb tortilla (and I couldn’t afford both feta and roasted red peppers). Instead, I added a little more than 1 T tomato paste, a few spinach leaves, 2 T of feta and some chopped baby portabello mushrooms. Bake at 400 degrees F for about 10 minutes.

The result? Yummy! I’ll make it again, for sure.

Hey — I have to get more produce in my life somehow! 😉

With that thought in mind, anyone have any salad recipes (or other recipes starring produce) you love so much you want to share?

Leave a Reply

