Trying something new

Either I was really craving vegetables today or cauliflower has gotten tastier in my old age.

Seriously. I’ve never been much of a cauliflower fan, but for dinner tonight, I tried a new recipe. It’s one you’ve probably all seen — at least if you go to WW meetings and have a three-month journal.

That’s right: Now that I’m on my third journal, I finally decided to try the Cauliflower Poppers. They might not be much to look at (especially on my battered old cookie sheet), but they were surprisingly delicious. With cumin, chili powder and black pepper, there was just enough spice to make things interesting.

I’ll share the recipe here.

Cauliflower Poppers

Nonstick cooking spray

1 small head cauliflower

1/2 tsp each cumin, chili power, salt and black pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and coat cookie sheet with spray. Cut cauliflower florets into bite-sized pieces (about 4 cups). Put cauliflower in medium bowl; add spices and toss to coat.

Spread cauliflower on baking sheet and cook until tender but not mushy, about 10 minutes. Stir halfway through.

Makes 8 1/2-cup servings. 0 Points per serving.

I’ll definitely make it again — maybe even on Saturday, for our plot group potluck.

Today  turned out to be an OK day, Points-wise. I ate 30 (28 + the 2 APs I earned on my walk this morning). I did, however, eat too many sweets and not enough Filling Foods … cauliflower notwithstanding.

I think I’m going to have to not buy any RF Oreos for a while. I was OK with my first package, and even the second … but I’ve been dipping into this one more than once a day.

Please, please, please tell me Oreos aren’t one of my trigger foods! 😛

Tomorrow (Friday) will be a bit of a challenge. I have my NARWA board meeting, and it’s at a restaurant where I always seem to want to order “fun food,” not healthy food. The salads on the menu look good, but the burgers and fries always look better …

Wish me luck!

3 responses to “Trying something new

  1. Interesting. I’m intrigued by the cauliflower. I’ve never been much of a fan (except drenched in cheese!) but maybe I will try that recipe sometime.

    Good luck with the restuarant–unfortunately for me, the cheeseburger and fries always sounds like more fun too!

    • I did end up getting the burger and sweet potato fries … I was all set to get a salad, but a direct deposit issue with the bank stressed me out and I went straight for the bad stuff. More to come on that later. 😛

  2. I’ve had the roasted cauliflower before. It is really good! I even dip it in ketchup sometimes. Oreos would definitely be a trigger food for me, sadly.

Leave a Reply

