Online, on the phone and in the kitchen


As I said earlier, I spent most of the day on the phone or running errands. When I wasn’t doing that, I was online.

I did, however, find time to make myself a healthy dinner (after
getting Subway for lunch).
Dinner was a turkey sandwich (2 oz. turkey, FF Miracle whip and honey mustard on a Sandwich Thin) and zucchini fries (a whole zucchini cut into spears, tossed with 2 tsp. honey mustard and 1 tsp. olive oil, then coated with 1/3 cup Fiber One crumbs and baked for about 18 minutes). I also steamed the last of the veggies from Sunday’s salad, which had been marinating in oil and balsamic vinegar. (Not the lettuce, but the carrots, broccoli and snap peas.)
I shot a photo of the fries, which were inspired by Hungry Girl. I don’t know if she has a recipe for something similar, because this

is one I made up myself — but it was definitely sparked by HG’s love of Fiber One.
A couple of hours after dinner, I made a peppermint milkshake with my Magic Bullet. I love that thing. It was a Christmas gift from my roommate several years ago, and while I don’t use it as often as the infomercial says, I do use it a lot. (Used it twice tonight — once to make the Fiber One crumbs and once for the shake. Mmm.)
The shake, which weighs in at 2 Points, was easy to make: just 1/2 cup Breyer’s Free vanilla ice cream, 1/4 cup skim milk and half a candy cane. It might not be as thick and rich as a DQ peppermint Blizzard, but it also has a heck a lot fewer calories!
Don’t ask why the photo is sideways. Apparently I have to change that in my photo editing program, not here in the blog.
One response to “Online, on the phone and in the kitchen

  1. Those DQ Peppermint Blizzards are my favourite. thank god they only come around once a year. I will have to try that in my Magic Bullet. Just might hit the spot. Perhaps peppermint extract will work once the canes are all gone.

Leave a Reply

