Adventures in weight loss, cooking and life

Getting to goal, one choice at a time …

WIAW: The struggling edition


Greetings! It’s Wednesday, and you know what that means: Time to join in the weekly What I Ate Wednesday linkup Jenn hosts over at Peas & Crayons.

Can I be honest here? Of course I can. It’s my blog!

If you know anything about Weight Watchers, you already know that as you drop pounds, you get fewer Points to eat each day. Last week, as I hit 28 pounds gone, I dropped from 35 to 34 — and I’m really having a tough time with it. I had no problems eating 38, or 37, or 36 … but for some reason, I have a mental barrier when it comes to 34. It just doesn’t seem like enough, and I’m dipping into my weekly FlexPoints nightly … which then leads me to get antsy/panicky toward the end of the week, when those FPs dwindle.

Any ideas how to get past this issue? I’m all ears.

On to the eats. They’re all from yesterday (Tuesday).

Strawberry Cheesecake SmoothieThe roommates’ bratty dog didn’t care that I didn’t get to bed ’til after 3 a.m. He started barking at just before 8 and woke me — and once I was awake, my mind started racing with ideas for my new novel and I couldn’t get back to sleep. So I got up and fixed a Strawberry Cheesecake Smoothie: 1 cup Naked strawberry-banana juice, 1/2 cup of low-fat cottage cheese and a handful of frozen strawberries.

Walk 040213With sustenance in my stomach, I headed outside to finish the Best Body Bootcamp fitness test by walking a mile as fast as I could. I speed-walked it in 15:01, about as fast as I could without breaking into a slow jog.

Instead of striking out for one of my favorite neighborhoods, I stuck close to home. I was a little sore from Monday’s bootcamp workout, so I took it fairly easy. I covered 1.42 miles in 22-ish minutes.

Back home, I downed a bottle of water and fixed a small sandwich: 1 hard-boiled egg, 1/2 Tablespoon FF Greek yogurt, 1/2 Tablespoon Miracle Whip and a sprinkle of sea salt on half a Sandwich Thin.

Someone was awfully interested in my sandwich. Don't worry. I gave them a Pupperoni after I snapped the picture.

Someone was awfully interested in my sandwich. Don’t worry. I gave Cinnamon and Moose a Pupperoni after I snapped the picture. Cocoa got her special treat.

The eggs, Eggland’s Best brand that I picked up pre-cooked, are about to expire and I didn’t want to let them go to waste.

I have to say, they were much better than the pre-boiled eggs I got from the deli a while back. Those were terrible, with a nasty, rubbery texture. These are pretty good. I’ll probably get ‘em again.

Next, it was off to Starbucks. I drank my skinny caramel iced latte without setting up its Glamor Shot. The receipt came with a deal: A $2 Grande-sized Refresher after noon. Since I was there long past noon, I checked the Refresher’s nutrition stats (1 WW PointPlus) and decided to give one a try.

Starbucks Refersher

I ordered the “Cool Lime” Refresher. It was OK, but a little sweeter than I’d have liked. Guess that’s what I should expect with 13 grams of carbohydrates (likely all sugar). I’d rather have iced tea (or a latte or, better yet, a Frappuccino).

The lime drink accompanied me to work, where I nuked my lunch: A 7-Point Lean Pocket (on pretzel bread!) and the last of my Trader Joe’s butternut squash soup (sniff).

Lean Pocket with soup

I’m sad to see that soup go. It was really good. The Lean Pocket was tasty for what it is.

Salsa Chicken with QuinoaWhen dinnertime rolled around, I went for another quick, easy meal: 1/2 cup quinoa (left over from Sunday’s food prep), leftover diced onions and 1/2 cup of Salsa Chicken that I pulled out of the freezer.

Since I was running low on Points, I skipped the cheese — but it probably would have made a tasty enough meal even more delicious.

I needed to save Points for this:

VitaTop with banana & PB

My post-dinner treat: A Deep Chocolate VitaTop with banana and 2 teaspoons peanut butter. An inspired idea! At 5 PointsPlus, it’s not something I can have every day, but it satisfied a chocolate craving.

Tuesday snacksOther eats, photographed after the fact, included a serving of Trader Joe’s Wasabi Wow Mis and a WW Celebration Cake Mini-Bar. (I probably should have just said “no” to the bar — I think I wanted it because I was bored, not truly hungry.)

Candy Cane Lane TeaWhen I got home after work, I fixed a mug of tea instead of scrounging in the kitchen for another snack I didn’t need. Bootcamp goal achieved!

I think that’s part of my problem. I’m up after midnight, so anything I eat after that counts on the next day’s Points total. That means I’m already behind when I wake up and start my morning.

We’ll see if 34 Points seems like enough when I eat them all after waking, instead of chiseling 3 to 4 away before I go to sleep.

I also realize, looking back at the day’s eats, that I skimped on veggies. Getting lax on veggie consumption doesn’t help … nor does drinking 3 of my Points (latte and the Refresher).

Can I blame it on DOMS? I think I hurt more now than I did last night, even though all I did today was a little (fast) walking.

6 comments on “WIAW: The struggling edition

  1. livehalffull
    April 3, 2013

    Yum! That quinoa mixture looks amazing! I must try it!

    • Arlene Hittle
      April 3, 2013

      It was delicious … but like I said, it’d probably be even better with a little ooey, gooey cheese.

  2. kathysteger
    April 3, 2013

    The reason why I love WIAW so much is the ability to see how much veggies I ate. Some days when I get on the scale I feel the same way. I think the trick is to allow your brain to accept the fact that the extra points are there for a reason. :)

    • Arlene Hittle
      April 4, 2013

      “Accept the fact that the extra points are there for a reason.” I like that. I should make myself a sign.

  3. Allison @ Life's a Bowl
    April 4, 2013

    I love TJ’s boxed soups! And VitaTops – especially when topped with PB ;)

    • Arlene Hittle
      April 4, 2013

      That VitaTop/PB combo was fantastic. I’ll be having it again.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by in Day-to-Day, Food Journal and tagged , , , , , , , .

Losing weight is easy …

... if you're in a coma, maybe. Most of us have to work at it — every day and every minute. It's not easy to make the right choices, to drink water instead of (diet) soda, pick the grilled chicken sandwich instead of a burger or choose to get up and get moving instead of lounging around in bed. After too many months of making the wrong choices under the guise of dabbling with paleo eating, I've re-joined Weight Watchers (online). My choices may no longer be low-carb or Whole30 or paleo, but the concept is the same: I'm still getting closer to my goal weight one choice at a time.

I’m a Diet-To-Go Ambassador

Arlene’s Tweets

Archives

#elf4health Challenge Participant

The Lean Green Bean

#MoveHappy

Better With Veggies

Let’s talk

Have a question, comment or suggestion? Email me at arleneawl@gmail.com

I’m in

Disclaimer

Please note that I’m not a doctor, registered dietitian or fitness expert. I'm merely sharing my experiences with weight loss, cooking and life. This is what works for me. That doesn't mean it will work for you. When it comes to your health and fitness, do your research.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 617 other followers

